1. Home
  2. Politics
  3. AAP to nominate cricketer Harbhajan Singh, Delhi MLA Raghav Chadha to Rajya Sabha from Punjab

AAP to nominate cricketer Harbhajan Singh, Delhi MLA Raghav Chadha to Rajya Sabha from Punjab

By Priyanka Verma 
Updated Date

New Delhi: Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) to nominate cricketer Harbhajan Singh and Delhi MLA Raghav Chadha to Rajya Sabha, from Punjab. The elections for Rajya Sabha will be held on March 31. Today is the last day for filing the e-nominations.

Also Read :- Vice-Presidential Polls 2022: AAP to support oppn candidate Margaret Alva for Vice President

Lovely Professional University chancellor, Ashok Mittal, will also be nominated by the AAP to the Rajya Sabha. Sanjeev Arora, an entrepreneur from Punjab, is another name likely on the list.

Also Read :- AAP Supremo Arvind Kejriwal accorded with 'Z + security' by Punjab-led Mann govt, claims Cong; Cops deny

“I’ve come here to file nomination for Rajya Sabha. I want to thank Delhi CM Arvind Kejriwal and Punjab CM Bhagwant Mann for nominating me at such a young age. I’ll raise the issue of Punjab’s people and protect their interests in parliament,” Chadha, 33, told news agency on Monday.

The five Punjab vacancies are rising due to the following RS MPs terms ending on April 9– Partap Singh Bajwa and SS Dullo (both from Congress), Shwait Malik (BJP), Naresh Gujral (SAD), and SS Dhindsa (SAD-Sanyukt). Punjab has seven Rajya Sabha seats. The term of Balwinder Singh Bhunder (SAD), Ambika Soni (Congress) will end on July 4, and polls to these two seats would be held later this year. There are 13 Rajya Sabha seats to which elections will be held on March 31.

Soon after the party claimed a handsome win in the Punjab elections with 92 of 117 assembly seats, Harbhajan Singh had tweeted a congratualtory message for Bhagwant Mann. “Congratulations to @AamAadmiParty and My friend #BhagwantMann on Becoming our New Chief minister .. great to hear that he will be taking oath as the new CM in Bhagat Singh’s village Khatkarkalan…what a picture…this is a proud moment for Mata ji (sic)”, he wrote.

The victory in Punjab is set to give a boost to the AAP in Rajya Sabha. The party has three MPs presently in the upper house, and all of them are from Delhi.

In a message to the new state ministers, Arvind Kejriwal asked them to perform or perish as Bhagwant Man continues to enforce the government’s anti-corruption agenda.

Also Read :- "This is CM Kejriwal's victory": Aam Aadmi Party's Durgesh Pathak wins Rajindra Nagar assembly bypoll

The results in the fresh round of state elections has already given a shot in the arm to the BJP and the party is set to cross the 100-mark for the first time this year after retaining four of five states – Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Manipur and Goa.

Further reading:
For the latest news and reviews, follow us on Facebook, YouTube and Twitter पर फॉलो करे...