1. Home
  2. Politics
  3. Adityanath to be elected leader of BJP legislature party today; Amit Shah, Raghubar Das will be present

Adityanath to be elected leader of BJP legislature party today; Amit Shah, Raghubar Das will be present

By Ruchi Upadhyay 
Updated Date

Lucknow: A day before the swearing in of the new Government in Uttar Pradesh, the BJP Legislature Party meeting of newly-elected lawmakers, which is scheduled to be held at Lok Bhawan on Thursday wherein they will formally elect Chief Minister-designate Yogi Adityanath as its leader.

Also Read :- UP man allegedly killed and chopped his ex-girlfriend into six pieces; Arrested

Union Home Minister Amit Shah and former Jharkhand Chief Minister Raghubar Das have been appointed as observers for this important meeting. In-charge of UP and Union Minister Dharmendra Pradhan will also be present in the meeting.

“Letters have been sent to all the 250 newly-elected BJP legislators asking them to attend the meeting on Thursday at 4 pm. In the meeting Yogi Adityanath would be formally elected as leader of the BJP Legislature Party.

Later in the evening, a BJP delegation led by Yogi will call on Governor Anandiben Patel and put its claim to form Government,” state BJP vice-president Vijay Bahadur Pathak said.

After being elected as the leader, Yogi Adityanath will meet Governor Anandiben Patel and stake his claim to form the government in the state. The swearing-in ceremony will most likely be held on Friday at Atal Bihari Vajpayee Ekana Stadium in Gomti Nagar.

Also Read :- Ghaziabad: 35-year-old man crushed to death by brick outside eatery over car parking

According to BJP sources, the new Yogi Cabinet is likely to have several new faces and first-time ministers. Names of 43 MLAs have been finalised who are likely to be inducted as ministers in the new Yogi cabinet.

Some influential ministers in the previous Yogi Adityanath may not be given any ministerial berths this time, the sources said. The selection of new ministers has been done purely on a merit basis – their performance in the previous government and their clean public image, the sources said.

The BJP and its allies have won 273 seats out of 403 in the Vidhan Sabha. The party has set a record as after a gap of 37 years the BJP will form the government for the second consecutive term.

Besides, Yogi Adityanath has also set a personal record of being the only chief minister to win an election and enjoy a second consecutive term. A five-time MP from Gorakhpur, Yogi Adityanath has been elected for the first from Gorakhpur (Sadar) seat in the just-concluded Assembly polls in the state.

He was elected to the state legislative council on September 8, 2017, after he became chief minister.

Also Read :- 4 Arrested for secretly filming couple in Oyo hotel at Noida

Further reading:
For the latest news and reviews, follow us on Facebook, YouTube and Twitter पर फॉलो करे...