1. Home
  2. Politics
  3. Akhilesh Yadav resigns from Lok Sabha, retains UP assembly seat

Akhilesh Yadav resigns from Lok Sabha, retains UP assembly seat

By Priyanka Verma 
Updated Date

Lucknow: Samajwadi Party (SP) national president Akhilesh Yadav has resigned from his Lok Sabha membership today, March 22. He met Lok Sabha Speaker Om Birla at the Parliament complex to submit his resignation. Akhilesh had won from Azamgarh parliamentary seat in the 2019 general election.

Also Read :- SP Chief Akhilesh Yadav names Rashtriya Lok Dal chief Ally Jayant Chaudhary for Rajya Sabha polls

The SP supremo will continue to represent the Karhal seat in the Uttar Pradesh Legislative Assembly. He won from the Karhal Assembly seat in Mainpuri district in the just concluded polls in Uttar Pradesh.

Yogi Adityanath is set to take oath as Uttar Pradesh’s chief minister on Friday at a grand ceremony for a second straight term. This is the first time in 37 years that a chief minister in the state has returned for a consecutive term.

Yadav has been a relentless critic of the BJP and Yogi Adityanath over the issue of jobs in the state among other matters. He had also slammed the ruling party over the handling of coronavirus, and during the election, he accused the BJP of meddling with the electronic voting machines.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi had led the BJP’s counterattacks against the SP over what the BJP described as lawlessness and “mafia raj” in the state during Akhilesh Yadav’s tenure.

Yadav won the Karhal Assembly seat with a margin of 67,504 votes. He had secured 1,48,196 votes, while his nearest rival, Union Minister SP Singh Baghel of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), got 80,692 votes.

Karhal is considered to be a stronghold of the SP. Yadav secured 60.12 per cent of the votes polled, while Baghel got 32.74 per cent votes. Yadav contested the Assembly polls for the first time. During his tenure as the CM, Akhilesh Yadav was a member of the Legislative Council.

The Mainpuri parliamentary seat is currently held by Akhilesh’s father and SP patriarch Mulayam Singh Yadav.

Meanwhile, Samajwadi Party’s Muslim face Azam Khan who contested the 2022 Uttar Pradesh Assembly elections while being jailed, has also resigned from his Lok Sabha membership. Khan won polls from the Rampur Assembly seat. He was representing the Rampur seat in the Lok Sabha.

Khan, a former Uttar Pradesh cabinet minister and nine-term MLA, registered victory against nearest rival Akash Saxena (Honey) of the BJP from Rampur seat by a margin of over 55,000 votes. Khan got 1.31 lakh (or 59.71 per cent) of the total votes counted while Saxena polled 76,084 (or 34.62 per cent) votes.

Khan is currently lodged in the Sitapur jail over multiple charges including theft, criminal intimidation and land encroachment.

The BJP has retained power in Uttar Pradesh, winning a majority of the 403 seats in the state and is set to continue with its Yogi Adityanath-led government once again. The saffron party alone pocketed 255 seats and its partners Apna Dal (S) and NISHAD won 12 and 6 seats, respectively. The Samajwadi Party finished second with 111 seats.

Further reading:
For the latest news and reviews, follow us on Facebook, YouTube and Twitter पर फॉलो करे...