1. Home
  2. Nation
  3. All accused of 2007 Mecca Masjid blast case acquitted

All accused of 2007 Mecca Masjid blast case acquitted

By Team Pardaphash 
Updated Date

NEW DELHI: A special National Investigation Agency (NIA) court in Hyderabad today acquitted all the accused in the case of the 2007 Mecca Masjid blast which claimed nine lives.

Also Read :- Outrage over Rishikesh murder: Ankita’s family agrees for cremation, says no to crowds

A total of 10 persons allegedly belonging to right-wing organisations were named as the accused in the case.

Only five of them — Devendra Gupta, Lokesh Sharma, Swami Aseemanand alias Naba Kumar Sarkar, Bharat Mohanlal Rateshwar alias Bharat Bhai and Rajendra Chowdhary – were arrested and faced trial in the case.

Two accused Swami Aseemanand and Bharat Mohanlal Rateshwar are out on bail while three others are lodged in the central prison in Hyderabad under judicial remand. Two other accused — Sandeep V Dange and Ramchandra Kalsangra — are absconding while another accused Sunil Joshi died. Investigations were continuing against two other accused.

The fourth additional metropolitan sessions-cum-special court for NIA cases concluded the trial and last week posted the case for judgement on April 16. The blast at the historic Mecca Masjid on May 18, 2007 during Friday prayers had left 58 wounded as well.

Also Read :- India women cricketer Jhulan Goswami shares heartfelt note to announce retirement from all forms of cricket

For the latest news and reviews, follow us on Facebook, YouTube and Twitter पर फॉलो करे...