1. Home
  2. Politics
  3. Another setback to CM Yogi; Dara Singh Chauhan quits UP govt

Another setback to CM Yogi; Dara Singh Chauhan quits UP govt

By Ruchi Upadhyay 
Updated Date

New Delhi: 2 ministers and 4 MLAs have quit Yogi government in 2 days. A day after Swami Prasad Maurya, Uttar Pradesh cabinet Minister and BJP leader Dara Singh Chauhan quits from his post on Wednesday.

Also Read :- UP officer admits to "lapse in protocol": Akhilesh Yadav party tweets video in EVM row

Dara Singh Chauhan wrote in his resignation letter that he is resigning as he is hurt by this government’s oppressive attitude towards the backward, deprived sections, Dalits, farmers and unemployed youth and the neglect of quota for the backward and Dalits.

Also Read :- Polling concludes in UP for phase-7 with 54.18% voters turnout till 5 pm

Chauhan alleged that the Yogi Adityanath-led government had “failed to address the aspirations of Dalits, OBCs and weaker sections of society and was apathetic towards the problems of the youth.”

“BJP formed govt with the support of Dalits, backward communities…but didn’t serve them well, which is why I resigned… Next step would be to hold discussions with my society people and then take a call for future course of action,” BJP leader Dara Singh Chauhan, who held the Environment and Forest portfolio in UP cabinet, was quoted as saying by ANI.

Chauhan is a former BSP MP who joined the BJP in 2015. This comes as BJP has been witnessing a flurry of resignations since Tuesday. Besides Swami Prasad Maurya, five more MLAs have quit so far.

In a bid to coax Chauhan, UP Deputy Chief Minister Keshav Prasad Maurya tweeted urging the MLA to reconsider. “It hurts if any member of the family goes astray, I would only urge the respected leaders that if they ride on a sinking boat, it would be their loss. Big brother Shri Dara Singh ji, you should reconsider your decision,” Yogi Adityanath’s deputy wrote.

The development comes in the wake of UP polls. The state will vote in seven phases beginning from February 10. The counting of votes will be done on March 10.

Further reading:
For the latest news and reviews, follow us on Facebook, YouTube and Twitter पर फॉलो करे...