1. Home
  2. Politics
  3. Assam Assembly Polls Phase 2 estimated voter turnout recorded 63.03%

Assam Assembly Polls Phase 2 estimated voter turnout recorded 63.03%

By Saima Siddiqui 
Updated Date

Dispur: Polling for 47 seats in the second phase of the Assam Assembly elections will take place between 7 am and 6 pm on Thursday. In today’s polls there are 345 candidates in the fray for the 39 constituencies, whose fate will be decided by 73,44,631 voters in this phase which includes 37,34,537 male, 36,09,959 female and 135 transgender voters. going to the polls today.

Also Read :- Mainpuri By-elections 2022: Akhilesh Yadav wife Dimple Yadav, fielded by Samajwadi Party

The polling for the first phase of the Assembly polls was held on March 27 with an impressive voter turnout of 79.97%. As the polling time has been increased by 1 hour, people can now cast their votes between 7 am and 6 pm.

Touted as a close battle between the incumbent BJP-led alliance and the Mahajot, the Assam Assembly election is being conducted in three phases.

LIVE Updates of Assam polls 2021 Phase-2:

15:40 IST, April 1st 2021

-Assam records rise in voter turnout, as per the Election Commission as of 3.38 pm, the voter turnout stands at 63.04%. So far, the Nalbari constituency has recorded the highest turnout at 71%.

Also Read :- Gujarat assembly elections 2022: BJP announces 1st list of candidates, CM Bhupendra Patel to contest from Ghatlodiya

15:26 (IST)

-Total voter turnout percentage at 3pm in Assam – 56.10 %

13:49 9 (IST)

-Tension arise after Congress-led Mahajot candidate from Tamulpur constituency, Rangja Basumatary was made to disappear.

13:45 (IST)

EC rolls notice to BJP’s Himanta Biswa Sarma over Poll code violation in the state

-The poll body has sent a notice to Assam Finance Minister and BJP leader Himanta Biswa Sarma on account of violation of model code of conduct, seeking a response before 5pm, April 2. The Congress had filed petition to the commission against Sarma for intimidating BPF chief Hagrama Mohiliary of consequences.

12:35 (IST)

-Congress leader Sushmita Dev casts her vote at a polling station in Silchar.

“Mahajot (grand alliance) is an inclusive alliance. BJP is a communal alliance,” she says.

12:25 (IST)

Also Read :- Adhir Chowdhury, Congress leader calls Droupadi Murmu 'rashtrapatni', BJP MPs demand apologize

-Local BJP leader comes within 100 metres of polling booth, gets detained

-As perPolice, it has detained a local BJP leader for allegedly coming within 100 metres of a pooling booth here, on Thursday. Mohan Singh, Dakshin Mandal Sabhapati of the BJP, however, claimed that he was called there by saffron party candidate Bharati Ghosh.

-Ghosh, a former IPS officer, alleged that TMC workers beat up Singh and chased him away. “I have complained to the presiding officer that our party agents are not being allowed to sit at the polling booths. TMC activists are intimidating our agents,” she said.

12:02 (IST)

-The TMC workers alleged that its polling agents have been threatened by the BJP in various booths in Nandigram Block 2. “Our agents were not allowed to enter several polling booths in Nandigram Block -2. Voters have also been stopped from exercising their franchise in some areas. We will lodge complaints with the EC,” a TMC leader said.

-The BJP, however, denied these allegations.

11:46 IST

-Congress is dreaming of coming to power in Assam: PM Modi

11:39 IST

-This is an election between the ‘maha jhooth’ of Mahajot and ‘maha vikas’ of Double Engine: PM Modi

11:35 IST

-Assam Assembly Elections 2021 Phase 2 LIVE Updates: People of Assam trust NDA for development, peace, security of the state: PM Modi

11:17 IST

-Total 24.62% voter turnout recorded as of 11:22 am in the second phase of polling in Assam Assembly elections.

11:12 IST

-Prime Minister Narendra Modi to address a public rally in Kokrajhar, shortly.

10:39 (IST)

-All India United Democratic Front President Badruddin Ajmal casts his vote at polling station number 21 in Hojai.

“PM Modi and Amit Shah have said they’ll send Bangladeshi infiltrators back. I want to ask them how many Bangladeshis sent back till now? I challenge them to tell if even 100 Bangladeshis have been sent back in the last 5 years,” he says.

09:40 IST

-Polling underway at booth number 337

09:20 IST

-Approximately 9% voter turnout recorded so far in the second phase of polling in Assam Assembly elections.

09:01 (IST)

-Voters being screened with a temperature gun, given hand sanitiser & hand gloves as they arrive at polling booths for the second phase of Assam assembly polls. Visuals from a polling booth in Nagaon.

08:33 IST

-Raksha Mantri Rajnath Singh urges people to vote.

08:01 IST

-Union Home Minister Amit Shah urges young voters to exercise franchise.

07:47 IST

-Voting underway at Nagaon

07:37 IST

-Voting stopped at Silchar, Nagaon due to EVM malfunction

07:15 IST

-Voting begins for Assam Assembly Elections 2021.

06:34 IST

-Voting to begin shortly

In this second phase of Assam Assembly polls, allies BJP, AGP, and UPPL are fielding candidates in 34, 6, and three seats respectively with a friendly contest expected in four constituencies.

While Congress is contesting 27 seats, AIUDF and BPF are in contention in eight and four constituencies respectively.

List of seats going to the polls in the 2nd phase:

  1. Ratabari, 2) Patharkandi, 3) Karimganj North, 4) Karimganj South, 5) Badarpur, 6) Hailakandi, 7) Katlichera, 8) Algapur, 9) Silchar, 10) Sonai, 11) Dholai, 12) Udharbond, 13) Lakhipur, 14) Barkhola, 15) Katigora, 16) Haflong, 17) Bokajan, 18) Howraghat, 19) Diphu, 20) Baithalangso, 21) Kamalpur, 22) Rangiya, 23) Nalbari, 24) Panery, 25) Kalaigaon, 26) Sipajhar, 27) Mangaldoi, 28) Dalgaon, 29) Udalgiri, 30) Majbat, 31) Jagiroad, 32) Marigaon, 33) Laharighat, 34) Raha, 35) Nowgong, 36) Barhampur, 37) Jamunamukh, 38) Hojai and 39) Lumding.

BJP is contesting 92 seats, it has allocated 26 and 8 seats to Asom Gana Parishad and the United People’s Party Liberal respectively.

The counting of votes is scheduled for May 2.

Further reading:
For the latest news and reviews, follow us on Facebook, YouTube and Twitter पर फॉलो करे...