1. Home
  2. Politics
  3. Assembly by-elections in 7 seats across 6 states begins; Over 2.41 lakh voters to vote in Munugode bypoll

Assembly by-elections in 7 seats across 6 states begins; Over 2.41 lakh voters to vote in Munugode bypoll

By-elections for seven assembly seats in six states are to be held today. Polling will be held in Gola Gokarnath in Uttar Pradesh, Mokama and Gopalganj in Bihar, Adampur in Haryana, Andheri East in Maharashtra, Dhamnagar in Odisha and Munugode in Telangana.

By Ruchi Upadhyay 
Updated Date

New Delhi: Voting is to be held today (Thursday) for the by-elections to seven assembly seats in six states of the country. In this election, a symbolic contest is being considered between the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and regional parties. Apart from the famous Mokama seat of Bihar, by-election is to be held on Gopalganj seat. This is the first election test after the formation of the government of the Grand Alliance under the leadership of Nitish Kumar. The first by-election is being held in the state less than three months after Nitish’s Janata Dal United (JDU) quit the BJP.

Also Read :- Poll strategist Prashant Kishor predicts fight likely to take place in Bihar's ‘mahagathbandhan’ following by-elections for two assembly seats

On the other hand, the saffron party is trying to retain Gola Gokarnath seat in Lakhimpur-Kheeri district in Uttar Pradesh, while the Dhamnagar seat vacated by the death of a sitting MLA in ruling Biju Janata Dal (BJD)-ruled Odisha is seeking sympathy. For this, the son of the late MLA has been made the candidate. Adampur assembly constituency of Haryana has been the stronghold of Bhajanlal family for 5 decades. He’s trying to keep it up.

On the other hand, BJP and the ruling Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) have campaigned aggressively in Telangana’s Munugoda seat. This seat was vacated by the resignation of Congress MLA and now he is in the fray again on a BJP ticket.

Officials said the Election Commission has geared up for large-scale polling, under which 15 companies of central paramilitary forces have been grounded in Munugode, apart from the deployment of 3,366 state police personnel. Webcast has been arranged at all the polling stations.

In Haryana’s Adampur, former Chief Minister Bhajan Lal’s family will be trying to hold on to its bastion of five decades after his younger son Kuldeep Bishnoi resigned as MLA from the seat and switched from the Congress to the BJP in August.

Mr Bishnoi’s son Bhavya is now contesting as a candidate for the ruling BJP against former Union Minister Jai Prakash, a three-time MP and two-time MLA, of the Congress.

Meanwhile, the Election Commission has made elaborate arrangements for polling, including the deployment of 3,366 state police and 15 companies of central security personnel in Manugoda. Webcasting would be done from all the polling stations, officials said.

Over 2.41 lakh voters to vote in Munugode bypoll

As many as 2,41,855 will be voting for the bypoll in Munugode assembly seat in Telangana. Out of these voters, 121,720 are men and the remaining 1,20,135 are women.

Voting started at 7am. The top contenders for this election are the ruling Bharat Rashtra Samithi (formerly known as Telangana Rashtra Samithi), the Congress and the BJP.

Further reading:
For the latest news and reviews, follow us on Facebook, YouTube and Twitter पर फॉलो करे...