1. Home
  2. Business
  3. Banks to remain unoperational for straight 5 days this week, Here’s a city wise list

Banks to remain unoperational for straight 5 days this week, Here’s a city wise list

By Saima Siddiqui 
Updated Date

New Delhi: As per the Reserve Bank of India (RBI) bank holiday calendar, the banks will be closed for 12 days in the month of September 2021 across India. The list isn’t just consisted of mandated holidays by the RBI, but also includes weekends. The breakup is five weekend holidays (excluding the passed Sunday) left this month and the six mandated bank holidays issued by the RBI for the month of September.

Also Read :- India's Q1 GDP grows at 13.5 % in April-June 2022-23, fastest pace of expansion in a year

Keep in mind that the RBI list of bank holidays, unlike the weekends, are not uniform. This means that they don’t apply to all the states at the same time. The banks will remain shut for five days in a row in some cities. So. if you are staying in any of the cities and want to visit your bank branch, please make note of all the holidays and do your bank work accordingly.

The holidays issued by the RBI are set to start off on September 8, however, if you account for the weekends as well, then the list of holidays was actually supposed to begin on September 5, 2021, which was the first Sunday, which has passed up.

Bank holiday on September 8, 2021

September 8, 2021- Tithi of Srimanta Sankardeva

Also Read :- RBI changes its Monetary Policy Meeting dates due to administrative requirements

The bank will be shut in Guwahati on September 8 on account of Tithi of Srimanta Sankardeva. No other city in any other state will have an off for that particular day.

Bank holiday on September 9, 2021

September 9, 2021 – Teej (Haritalika)

Banks will be closed in Gangtok on September 9 and September 10 on account of Teej (Haritalika) and Indrajatra respectively.

Bank holiday on September 10, 2021

Also Read :- Indian rupee falls to new low against US dollar, market watches for RBI's intervention

On September 10, 2021 – Ganesh Chaturthi/Samvatsari (Chaturthi Paksha)/Vinayakar Chathurthi/Varasiddhi Vinayaka Vrata

A total of 9 cities across India will be celebrating Ganesh Chaturthi/Samvatsari (Chaturthi Paksha)/Vinayakar Chathurthi/Varasiddhi Vinayaka Vrata.

The locations where banks will have an off for this holiday are Ahmedabad, Belapur, Bengaluru, Bhubaneswar, Chennai, Hyderabad, Mumbai, Nagpur, Panaji.

Bank holiday on September 11, 2021

September 11, 2021 -Ganesh Chaturthi (2nd day) (Second Saturday)

However, the banks will remain close on the second day of Ganesh Chaturthi as it falls on the second Saturday.

Also Read :- Rajiv Ranjan, Sitikantha Pattanaik appointed as executive directors of RBI

Bank holiday on September 12, 2021

September 12, 2021 – Weekly off (Sunday)

All banks remain shut on public holidays while certain holidays vary from state to state.

So, with the long list of Bank Holidays, keep an eye on the calendar and plan your next bank visit accordingly.

Further reading:
For the latest news and reviews, follow us on Facebook, YouTube and Twitter पर फॉलो करे...