1. Home
  2. Politics
  3. Bengal Panchayat election counting today

Bengal Panchayat election counting today

The counting of votes will take place today for the panchayat elections held in West Bengal. The counting of votes will be done under the surveillance of CCTV cameras. Earlier on Monday, re-voting was held at about 700 booths.

By Team Pardaphash 
Updated Date

After the panchayat elections held in West Bengal on July 8 and again on July 10, the votes are being counted on Tuesday. The results of 64 thousand 874 seats in the three-tier panchayat elections will be declared in West Bengal. A total of 9 thousand 13 candidates have been elected unopposed on 73 thousand 887 seats in the state. In which maximum 8 thousand 874 candidates of TMC have won. There are 63 candidates of BJP, 40 of Congress and 36 of CPM.

Also Read :- Bengal BJP Protesters Confine Union Minister Inside Party Office

Counting of votes amid tight security

Central forces will be deployed and CCTV cameras will be installed at all counting centers during voting. The Election Commission has said that ballot papers without the signature of the presiding officer and the rubber stamp affixed on the back of the ballot paper will be considered invalid.

Let us tell you that about 38 people died in the violence during the voting in the Panchayat elections, while some people were also injured. On July 8, the first day of polling, many incidents of violence, looting of booths and destruction of ballot boxes came to the fore. For this reason, on Monday, re-polling was conducted at 696 polling booths amid tight security arrangements. The fate of more than 2 lakh candidates on 73,887 seats is to be decided in the panchayat elections held in Bengal.

The counting of votes has started from 8 am. Earlier, there were several reports of violence, booth capturing, and voter intimidation in the elections held on July 8.

Also Read :- ECI Delegation Visits West Bengal to Assess Readiness for Lok Sabha Elections

TMC and BJP workers gathered before counting

At the same time, there was a clash between TMC and BJP workers on going to the counting center in Coochbehar’s Dinhata last night before the counting of votes. It is alleged that TMC workers attacked BJP leader Ajay Roy. BJP leader Ajay Roy said that the block development officer informed us over the phone that the strong room would be opened at 10 pm. When we reached here, we saw that the strong room was already open. He asked how can they open the strong room? The seal should have been opened in the presence of all the parties.

Further reading:
For the latest news and reviews, follow us on Facebook, YouTube and Twitter पर फॉलो करे...