1. Home
  2. Trending
  3. Bigwigs lose their seats in Yogi’s second innings, which is based on a cabinet of 52 members

Bigwigs lose their seats in Yogi’s second innings, which is based on a cabinet of 52 members

By wasmulhaq 
Updated Date

Some brave decisions were made by Yogi Adityanath as he took charge for the second consecutive time as the chief minister of UP. He dropped a bombshell on several old colleagues. He didn’t hesitate to drop some of his old ministers from his previous government.

Also Read :- AAP secures majority to win MCD elections; it dethrones BJP’s 15-year reign

The grand swearing-in ceremony took place at the Atal Bihari Vajpayee Ekana Stadium, where Prime Minister Narendra Modi, along with the top brass of the BJP, was also present. Besides this, a huge crowd also attended this gala ceremony.

32 new faces in  Yogi 2.0 cabinet

In Yogi’s 2.0 cabinet, 32 new faces were included among the new 52 members. Along with Yogi, two deputy chief ministers, 16 cabinet ministers, 14 ministers of state with independent charge and 20 ministers of state took the oath.

52 members in the new Yogi’s cabinet

Also Read :- IND vs BAN 2nd ODI: Indian captain Rohit Sharma rushed to hospital for scans after fielding injury

Come to the caste breakup of all the ministers. Out of 52 cabinet members, 21 belong to the upper caste, 20 are OBCs, eight Dalits, one ST, one Sunni Muslim, and one Sikh. Of the 21 upper caste ministers, seven are Brahmins, six are Thakurs, two are Bhumihars, five are Vaishyas, and one is Kayastha.

Among the OBCs, there are four Kurmis, three Jats, two Nishads, two Lodhis, and one each from Maurya, Gaderia, Saini, Gurjar, Teli, Rajbhar, Yadav, Kumhar, and Kashyap sub-castes.

Dalits have also been given a good share of the eight berths. While OBCs (mainly Kashyaps, Rajbhars, Saini, and Kushwahas) consolidated across the state to give the BJP an upper hand in this election, Jatavs also shifted to the BJP. This has given hope to the party that Jatavs could be the turning point and the next big chunk of the vote bank that the BJP could bring into its fold before the 2024 Lok Sabha elections.

Apart from Jatavs, other sub-castes of Dalits also have fair representation in the ministry. The regional balance, too, has been kept in mind as OBCs from the west, central, and east have good representation in the Yogi cabinet.

Old cabinet ministers are not included.

Also Read :- Delhi air quality remains 'very poor' at 337 AQI amid curb on construction work

Some of the big names dropped in the Yogi 2.0 government. The notables missing from the new cabinet are Dinesh Sharma, Satish Mahana, Ashutosh Tandon, Shrikant Sharma, Siddharth Nath Singh, Mohsin Raza, Jai Prakash Nishad, Ram Naresh, Agnihotri, Ashok Kataria, Jai Prakash Nishad, Ramapati Shastri, Neelkanth Tiwari, Dinesh Sharma, Mahendra Singh, among others.

In the previous government, Shrikant Sharma was the state’s energy minister from Mathura, Ashutosh Tandon was the urban development minister, Siddharth Nath Singh was the MSME minister, and Jai Pratap Singh was the health minister. Ramapati Shastri, a BJP MLA from Mankapur in Gonda district, held the charge of the social welfare minister.

Neelkanth Tiwari, from Varanasi, held departments like charitable work and tourism. Narendra Modi’s dream project, Kashi Vishwanath Corridor, was built under his supervision. Neelkanth Tiwari is the MLA for the Vishwanath Temple corridor, which is located in the southern part of Varanasi city.

Two deputy CMs

Dinesh Sharma, who previously served as the deputy chief minister of Uttar Pradesh, has been dropped from the Yogi cabinet. In his place, Brajesh Pathak, along with Keshav Prasad Maurya, was sworn in as deputy chief ministers.

The BJP also replaced Mohsin Raza, its lone Muslim face in the first Adityanath government, with Danish Azad Ansari, the state secretary of the party’s minority cell.

Also Read :- Watch: Olympic medallist Mirabai Chanu wins silver medal at World Weightlifting Championships

Swami Prasad Maurya, Dharam Singh Saini, and Dara Singh Chauhan, all ministers in the previous BJP government, left the party just before the Assembly elections and ran as candidates for the opposition Samajwadi Party.

Mukut Bihari Verma and Swati Singh were not given tickets by the BJP in the just-concluded Assembly polls.

The platform is set for the general elections in 2024.

An indication of how the BJP looks at the win came on the 10th of March, the V-day of PM Narendra Modi. With the Uttar Pradesh trophy back on his shelf, he declared, “Some pundits had portrayed the Uttar Pradesh election result of 2017 as having decided the 2019 Lok Sabha election. The assembly results in UP and the resounding victory of the BJP have set the platform for the 2024 general election results.

Yogi Adityanath’s coronation ceremony has made it clear that it is the end of the state assembly election and the beginning of a campaign for the 2024 general election. The tremendous victory has increased the confidence in the BJP camp.

Congress and BSP weren’t in the race.

But 2022 was the first state election in UP in a long time when the BSP and Congress were not in the race to pose any challenge. While Mayawati gave ample signals that she may be offering a walkover in some senses, the Congress did what it does: fight and lose. With Rahul Gandhi in 2017. This time, under Priyanka Gandhi’s leadership.

Also Read :- Headless body of Delhi boy, killed by neighbour found in Meerut; Human sacrifice suspected: Cops

There were initial worries within the BJP because it has often benefited from the fragmentation of voting blocs. The party was aware that a bipolar contest had its own unique challenges. As sections of voters from opposition parties rally behind the primary challenger to not waste their vote, the vote percentage of the party in power needs to be in the high forties.

For the latest news and reviews, follow us on Facebook, YouTube and Twitter पर फॉलो करे...