1. Home
  2. Politics
  3. Bihar cabinet expansion: 17 members inducted; 9 from BJP, 8 from JD(U)

Bihar cabinet expansion: 17 members inducted; 9 from BJP, 8 from JD(U)

By Saima Siddiqui 
Updated Date

Patna: Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar expanded his cabinet on Tuesday with the induction of 17 new members- 9 from BJP and 8 from JD(U) at the Raj Bhavan in Patna.

Also Read :- Tamil Nadu: In view of continuous rain, schools and colleges remain closed in Virudhunagar district

Other Ministers who sworn in the cabinet includes- Union minister and BJP national spokesperson Syed Shahnawaz Hussain, Nitin Nabin, Pramod Kumar, late actor Sushant Singh Rajput’s cousin Neeraj Kumar Singh Bablu, Samrat Choudhary, Janak Ram, Alok Ranjan Jha, Subhash Singh and Narayan Prasad- who all have been inducted from the BJP’s quota. Whereas, former MP, Janak Ram is not a member of any House of the Bihar Legislature as of now and Syed Shahnawaz Hussain, has been give office as industry minister.

Also Read :- Anupam Kher lashed out at IFFI jury head for calling The Kashmir Files 'vulgar'

On the other hand the list of members from the new JD(U) inducted in the state council of Ministers includes- Sanjay Kumar Jha, Shravan Kumar, Lesi Singh, Jayant Raj, Jama Khan, Sumit Singh, Sunil Kumar and Madan Sahni.

In this new portfolio allocation, the CM will be in-charge of the Home Department while Tarkishore Prasad has retained Finance. The Panchayati Raj portfolio has been given to Samrat Choudhary from Renu Devi. BSP-turned-JD(U) lawmaker Jama Khan has been allocated the Minority Affairs portfolio.

Meanwhile, former Union Minister and BJP national spokesperson Syed Shahnawaz Hussain has been appointed as the Industry Minister. Whereas, Neeraj Kumar Singh “Bablu” and Mangal Pandey will serve as the Environment and Health Minister respectively. Hussain was the first to be administered the oath of office by Governor Phagu Chauhan at a ceremony held at the Raj Bhavan for the cabinet expansion.

Also Read :- Attack on Delhi police van carrying Shraddha's killer Aftab outside FSL; 2 Arrested

Furthermore, the 2020 Bihar Assembly election had witnessed a voter turnout of 57.05% against that of 56.66% in the 2015 polls. In this latest polls, NDA had came out victorious with 125 seats as against that of 110 seats won by the Mahagatbandhan. BJP, RJD, JD(U), Congress had managed to win 74, 75, 43, and 19 seats respectively. With 4 seats each, VIP and HAM (S) had a crucial role to play in the ruling alliance breaching the majority mark.

Further reading:
For the latest news and reviews, follow us on Facebook, YouTube and Twitter पर फॉलो करे...