1. Home
  2. Politics
  3. Bihar: Nitish Kumar to take oath for the 8th time as CM today, swearing-in program at 2 pm, Tejashwi Yadav as his deputy

Bihar: Nitish Kumar to take oath for the 8th time as CM today, swearing-in program at 2 pm, Tejashwi Yadav as his deputy

By Priyanka Verma 
Updated Date

Patna: JD(U) leader Nitish Kumar will take oath as the Chief Minister of Bihar for the eighth time today. At the same time, RJD leader Tejashwi Yadav can take oath as the Deputy Chief Minister. The swearing-in program will be held at Raj Bhavan at 2 pm on today. Nitish Kumar will lead a seven-party alliance this time. This coalition is supported by an independent.

Also Read :- Tripura assembly polls :TMC releases manifesto, promises 2 lakh jobs and one thousand allowance to unemployed youth

Nitish Kumar had resigned from the post of Chief Minister yesterday, announcing breaking the alliance with the BJP and presented the claim of forming the government with the help of other parties including RJD, Congress in front of Governor Fagu Chauhan. Nitish Kumar’s JD(U) and Tejashwi Yadav’s RJD sources said more ministers would be included in the two-member cabinet later. According to sources, apart from JDU, there will be representatives of RJD and Congress in the new cabinet. Left parties are likely to extend outside support to the new government to maintain its independent identity.

Earlier, 71-year-old Nitish Kumar met the Governor twice on Tuesday. For the first time he submitted his resignation as the chief minister leading the NDA alliance, while for the second time Tejashwi, along with other allies of the opposition Grand Alliance, went to the Raj Bhavan and submitted a list of 164 MLAs’ support to the governor. At present, there are 242 members in the Bihar Legislative Assembly and the magic figure of getting a majority is 122.

‘Decision to leave NDA in party meeting’: Speaking to reporters on his exit from Raj Bhavan along with Tejashwi Yadav, Kumar said, “It was decided in the party meeting that we should leave the NDA. Therefore, I have resigned from the chief minister’s post of NDA.

The JD(U) and the BJP had been at loggerheads for weeks over several issues including caste census, population control and Agneepath scheme and retaining Kumar’s former confidante RCP Singh as a Union cabinet minister. On some occasions, it also came out in the open through rhetoric. JDU broke away from the Grand Alliance five years ago i.e. in 2017 and joined hands with the BJP.

Also Read :- Cricketers Babar Azam, Shahid Afridi among others moved to safety after explosion near stadium in Quetta

JD(U) currently has 45 of its MLAs and is supported by an independent MLA while RJD has 79 MLAs. The Congress has 19, while the CPI-ML has 12 MLAs, two each from the Communist Party of India (CPI) and the Communist Party of India-Marxist (CPI-M) have also given them letters of support. Four MLAs of Hindustani Awam Morcha are also with Kumar.

Nitish Kumar will take oath as the Chief Minister for the 8th time today. He has formed the government with both BJP and RJD. Let us tell you that Nitish Kumar broke the alliance with BJP in 2013, then he told the reason for this to PM Narendra Modi. After this, in 2015, Nitish Kumar formed a grand alliance with Lalu Yadav’s party RJD. After the victory in the elections, Nitish became the Chief Minister. However, in 2017, he joined the NDA after breaking away from the grand alliance with Nitish. He again became the Chief Minister of Bihar with the BJP. In the 2020 elections, the government was formed with the BJP.

For the latest news and reviews, follow us on Facebook, YouTube and Twitter पर फॉलो करे...