1. Home
  2. Politics
  3. Bihar politics: Nitish Kumar takes oath as CM for the 8th time, Tejashwi Yadav became Deputy Chief Minister

Bihar politics: Nitish Kumar takes oath as CM for the 8th time, Tejashwi Yadav became Deputy Chief Minister

By Priyanka Verma 
Updated Date

Patna: Nitish Kumar has become the CM of Bihar for the eighth time. On Wednesday, Nitish Kumar took oath as the CM of Bihar for the eighth time. Bihar Governor Fagu Chauhan administered the oath of office and secrecy to Nitish Kumar in a ceremony held at Raj Bhavan in Patna. Along with Nitish Kumar, Tejashwi Yadav, who was the Deputy CM of Bihar in the past and Lalu Prasad’s younger son, also took the oath of office and secrecy as a minister of the state.

Also Read :- Watch: After Lucknow, video goes viral of Ajmer couple romance on moving bike, case registered

SP President Akhilesh Yadav has congratulated Chief Minister Nitish Kumar and Deputy Chief Minister Tejashwi Yadav. He tweeted and wrote, ‘Heartfelt congratulations and best wishes to Shri Nitish Kumar Ji as Chief Minister of Bihar and Shri Tejashwi Yadav Ji as Deputy Chief Minister. Speaking after the oath ceremony, Mr Kumar threw a challenge to Prime Minister Narendra Modi, questioning whether he would be re-elected in 2024. “I’m not an aspirant for the PM’s post. The question to ask is — if the person who came in 2014 will win in 2024,” Mr Kumar said. He also repeatedly assured that he would work hard for “Opposition unity”.

The leaders of all the constituent parties of the Grand Alliance were present in the function held at Raj Bhavan in Patna, but during this time no big leader of BJP was seen. After the swearing-in ceremony, both the leaders greeted the people present there, after which both the leaders were congratulated by the people. After the appointment Tejashwi Yadav said, “Bihar did what country needs to do. We’ve shown them a way. Our fight has been against unemployment. Our CM felt pain of poor & youth. We’ll give bumper jobs within one month to poor & youth, it’ll be something so grand that its never happened before.”

During the swearing-in ceremony, apart from former Chief Minister Rabri Devi, Lalu Prasad’s elder son Tej Pratap Yadav and Tejashwi Yadav’s wife Rajshree Yadav were also present. Before taking oath, Tejashwi Yadav was seen sitting next to his wife Rajshree. Nitish, 71, on Tuesday resigned as the chief minister of the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) and staked claim to form a new government with the support of the seven-party grand alliance MLAs.

Also Read :- Delhi Liquor Policy Case: Punjab-based businessman Gautam Malhotra arrested in money laundering case
For the latest news and reviews, follow us on Facebook, YouTube and Twitter पर फॉलो करे...