1. Home
  2. Politics
  3. BJP gets into Akhilesh’s family! Sister-in-law Aparna Yadav to join BJP tomorrow

BJP gets into Akhilesh’s family! Sister-in-law Aparna Yadav to join BJP tomorrow

By Saima Siddiqui 
Updated Date

Lucknow: With the announcement of the UP assembly elections’ dates, a lot of cross party movement has been witnessed in both BJP and Samajwadi party. Amid this political turmoil, BJP lost many top leaders to rival SP, thus further strengthening  Akhilesh’s stance in upcoming polls. Where three ministers of the Yogi Adityanath cabinet quit party to join SP, it seems like cycle too is going to lose one of its leaders that too from family.

Also Read :- Samajwadi Party supremo Akhilesh Yadav decides to fight 2024 Lok Sabha elections from Kannauj

As per speculation, SP Patron Mulayam Singh Yadav’s younger daughter-in-law, Aparna Yadav, is all set to join BJP. However, there is no official confirmation of this yet. 

Notably, rebel BJP MLAs including Swami Prasad Maurya and former UP minister Dharam Singh Saini joined the Samajwadi Party on Friday in the presence of opposition leader Akhilesh Yadav. Also joining the Samajwadi Party were MLAs Mukesh Verma, Vinay Shakya and Bhagwati Sagar.

These MLAs were among 8 BJP leaders who left the saffron party ahead of the elections citing neglect toward the backward classes and Dalit voters.

Earlier, Maurya lashed out at BJP for playing foul politics after an arrest warrant was issued in his name in an 8-year-old case.

Also Read :- Akhilesh faces litmus test as Mainpuri prepares for by-election without Mulayam

“A non-bailable warrant has been issued against me in an 8 yr old case. It’s just 2nd day of my resignation (as UP min). Even if dozens of cases are registered against me, my morale will not be weakened. The more they trouble me, the more strongly I’ll defeat them,” ANI quoted Maurya as saying.

The warrant was issued by a local court on Wednesday in a 2014 case for allegedly making objectionable comments against Hindu gods.

Swami Prasad Maurya’s resignation triggered a mass exodus of ministers and MLA’s in BJP ahead of assembly polls. So far, 7 BJP leaders have quit the party to join Akhilesh Yadav’s SP.

Uttar Pradesh will go to the polls from February 10 in seven phases.

Also Read :- Mulayam Singh Yadav's last rites in UP's Saifai village with full state honors today; Top leaders paid last respects to 'Netaji'
Further reading:
For the latest news and reviews, follow us on Facebook, YouTube and Twitter पर फॉलो करे...