1. Home
  2. Politics
  3. BJP registers spectacular win in Tripura bypolls from Dhanpur, Boxanagar seats; Defeats CPM candidates

BJP registers spectacular win in Tripura bypolls from Dhanpur, Boxanagar seats; Defeats CPM candidates

BJP has registered a spectacular victory in Tripura's Boxanagar seat by 34146 votes. Tafajjal Hossain of BJP has got 34146 votes. While at second place Mizan Hossain of Communist Party of India (Marxist) got only 3909 votes. In this way BJP was successful in winning this seat by a margin of 30237 votes.

By Ruchi Upadhyay 
Updated Date

New Delhi: Counting of votes is going on today for the by-elections held on September 5 on seven assembly seats in six states of the country. This includes the seats of Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Kerala, Bengal, Tripura and Jharkhand. BJP registered victory for both (Dhanpur, Boxanagar) the seats of Tripura. Whereas in the ongoing counting of votes in Ghosi assembly seat of Uttar Pradesh, Samajwadi Party candidate Sudhakar Singh is continuously leading over BJP’s Dara Singh Chauhan.

Also Read :- Akhilesh Yadav: SP's Vision for MP and INDIA Bloc's Future

According to the Election Commission of India, SP candidate Sudhakar Singh was leading in the 5th round of Ghosi assembly by-election. Sudhakar got 18946 votes and Dara Singh got 11927 votes in this round. BJP’s Parvati Das is ahead in Bageshwar seat of Uttarakhand, while Taapsee Roy is ahead of BJP in Dhupguri seat of West Bengal.

According to the Election Commission, the BJP has won the Dhanpur and Boxanagar assembly seats in Tripura’s Sipahijala district. The BJP has captured the Boxanagar seat with about 66 per cent minority voters. In Dhanpur, Bindu Debnath defeated CPI-M’s Kaushik Chanda by 18,871 votes. In Boxanagar, BJP’s Tafajjal Hossain defeated CPM’s Mijan Hossain by a margin of 30,237 votes. At this seat, Hossain got 34,146 votes, while his rival Mijan could garner only 3,909 votes.

After two rounds of counting, BJP candidate Tapasi Roy was leading by 1,085 votes. CPM has announced boycott of vote counting in Tripura. The party has alleged large-scale irregularities during voting in both the constituencies. At the same time, CPM and Congress have joined hands to take on the ruling Trinamool in Dhupguri, West Bengal. Incidentally, all three parties are part of the opposition group INDIA. Now, who will retain control over the seven seats of six states and who will have to lose it will become clear only after the counting of votes is completed.

Also Read :- Assam CM Warns of Media Censorship if Congress Comes to Power Amid Media Boycott Row
Further reading:
For the latest news and reviews, follow us on Facebook, YouTube and Twitter पर फॉलो करे...