1. Home
  2. Politics
  3. BJP releases list of candidates for upcoming bypolls in Arunachal and West Bengal

BJP releases list of candidates for upcoming bypolls in Arunachal and West Bengal

BJP has geared up for the by-elections of Arunachal Pradesh and West Bengal Legislative assembly. BJP has fielded candidates for the by-elections in both the states. The fight in the by-elections is very interesting.

By Ruchi Upadhyay 
Updated Date

New Delhi: BJP has released the list of candidates for the Arunachal Pradesh and West Bengal Assembly by-elections. BJP has fielded Tsering Lhamu from Lumla assembly seat in Arunachal Pradesh. On the other hand, Dilip Saha will contest from Sagardighi seat in West Bengal. BJP’s national general secretary Arun Singh has stamped the names of the candidates.

Also Read :- Odisha cops busted largest 'cough syrup racket' under its 'Mission Cough Syrup' campaign; 35 Arrested

The Lumla Assembly seat was vacant after the death of BJP leader Jambey Tashi and in West Bengal’s Sagardighi the election was necessary because of the death of Trinamool Congress (TMC) leader Subrata Saha.

Let us first talk about the Sagardighi seat of West Bengal. Voting will be held here on February 27 and results will be declared on March 2. The Trinamul Congress will give a tough fight to the BJP here on the state’s power. Debasish Banerjee will contest the election on Trinamool Congress ticket. Please tell that after the death of the MLA present here, the by-election became necessary. Subrata Saha of Trinamool Congress won this seat with a huge margin in the 2021 assembly elections.

Bypolls to be held on February 27
Bye-elections to one assembly constituency, each in Arunachal Pradesh, Jharkhand, West Bengal, Tamil Nadu and two assembly constituencies in Maharashtra will be held on February 27. The counting of votes to all bypolls will be held on March 2.

The date of the issue of gazette notification was January 31, while February 7 is the last date for filing nominations. The scrutiny of nominations will be done on February 8 while the last Date for Withdrawal of candidatures is February 10.

Also Read :- Stones pelted at Howrah-New Jalpaiguri Vande Bharat train again in Farakka; Window pane broken

Earlier, the Election Commission also announced the schedule for Assembly elections to the northeastern states of Tripura, Meghalaya and Nagaland to be held in February-March this year. The results of all three states will be declared on March 2, 2023.

Further reading:
For the latest news and reviews, follow us on Facebook, YouTube and Twitter पर फॉलो करे...