1. Home
  2. Politics
  3. BJP’s Suvendu Adhikari targets Mamata, says “Bengal will become Kashmir if TMC elected”

BJP’s Suvendu Adhikari targets Mamata, says “Bengal will become Kashmir if TMC elected”

By Saima Siddiqui 
Updated Date

Kolkata: Former Trinamool Congress leader, Suvendu Adhikari, who crossed over to BJP and is all set to lock horns with his former aide Mamata Banerjee in his home constituency, Nandigram said the ruling TMC is keen on turning West Bengal into another Kashmir.

Also Read :- PDP leader Mehbooba Mufti walks with Rahul Gandhi in Bharat Jodo Yatra, which resumes after 'security lapse'

BJP’s Nandigram candidate for the upcoming state Assembly elections also cited Syama Prasad Mookerjee to say that if not for the late Jan Sangh founder, India would have been an Islamic country like Bangladesh.

Addressing a rally yesterday in Muchipara, Behala, Mr Adhikari said, “If Shyama Prasad Mukherjee was not there, this country would have been an Islamic country and we would be living in Bangladesh. If they (TMC) came back to power, West Bengal will become Kashmir.”

A few weeks ago too, he had accused the ruling Trinamool Congress of attempting to turn West Bengal into Bangladesh by importing the “Jai Bangla” slogan.

“The ‘khela hobe’ slogan was coined by Narayanganj (in Bangladesh) MP Shamim Osman four years ago. TMC wants to turn West Bengal into Bangladesh that is why they have imported ‘Jai Bangla’ slogan. Our slogan is — ‘Bharat mata ki jai’ and ‘Jai Shri Ram’,” he had said while talking to a media persons in Siliguri, Darjeeling.

Also Read :- DGCA fines of ₹ 10 lakh on Go First airline after flight left behind 55 passengers in Bengaluru on Jan 9

Reacting to his latest jibe on Kashmir, former Jammu and Kashmir Chief Minister Omar Abdullah, referring to the 2019 nullification of Article 370 of the constitution, tweeted, “But according to you BJP-wallas, Kashmir has become paradise after August 2019 so what’s wrong with West Bengal becoming Kashmir?”

The Article 370 had bestowed special status on the former state that was also turned into a Union Territory along with that move.

The elections for the 294 Assembly seats will begin on March 27 and will be held through eight phases till almost the end of April. The results will be declared on May2.

For the latest news and reviews, follow us on Facebook, YouTube and Twitter पर फॉलो करे...