1. Home
  2. Politics
  3. Calcutta high court grants interim bail to 4 TMC leaders in Narada case

Calcutta high court grants interim bail to 4 TMC leaders in Narada case

By Saima Siddiqui 
Updated Date

Kolkata: The Calcutta high court on Friday granted interim bail to two Bengal ministers, Trinamool Congress MLA, former Kolkata mayor arrested by the Central Bureau of Investigation (CBI) in Narada bribery case. The five-judge bench granted them bail on a personal bond of Rs 2 lakh.

Also Read :- West Bengal: CBI searches at multiple locations in connection with cattle smuggling, raid at close aide of TMC leader Anubrata Mondal

They will join the investigation via video conferencing. The four leaders cannot give interviews to news channels related to the case.

The TMC leaders — Firhad Hakim, Madan Mitra, Subrata Mukherjee and Sovan Chatterjee — were under judicial custody since their arrest by the CBI in the case on May 17.

The four leaders were placed under house arrest on May 19, following a split in the division bench on the question of interim bail, and the matter was referred to the larger bench.

What is Narada case?

Also Read :- Bengal coal scam case: ED summons Mamata Banerjee’s nephew and TMC leader Abhishek Banerjee on September 2

Narada ‘sting operation’ was an undercover investigation conducted by a news outlet which aimed to reveal corruption within the Trinamool Congress.

Between 2014 and 2016, founder of the ‘Narada News’ Mathew Samuel conducted a sting operation on at least 12 TMC leaders and an IPS officer in which they were allegedly seen receiving cash in exchange of extending business favors to a firm. 

The company named ‘Impex Consultancy Solutions’ was a fictitious firm forged by Samuel to conduct the sting operation. 

While the sting operation was started in 2014, it was not published until 2016, ahead of the 2016 West Bengal Assembly elections. The sting was published by Tehelka.

TMC leaders, incuding state cabinet ministers, sitting MLAs and Members of Parliament were allegedly caught on camera, either accepting money or responding favourably to Samuel’s proposals. 

Also Read :- Former West Bengal governor Jagdeep Dhankhar takes oath as 14th VP of India

The 56-hour-long footage caught included Mukul Roy, Sougata Roy, Kakoli Ghosh Dastidar, Prasun Banerjee, Suvendu Adhikari, Aparupa Poddar, Sultan Ahmad (died in 2017), Madan Mitra, Sovan Chatterjee, Subrata Mukherjee, Firhad Hakim, Iqbal Ahmed, Shanku Deb Panda and now-suspended IPS HMS Mirza.

While Mukul Roy and Suvendu Adhikari are now in the BJP, Sovan Chatterjee had also joined the party but quit ahead of 2021 state assembly polls after being denied a ticket. 

Further reading:
For the latest news and reviews, follow us on Facebook, YouTube and Twitter पर फॉलो करे...