1. Home
  2. Politics
  3. Congress forms two major committees to restore party’s old image

Congress forms two major committees to restore party’s old image

By wasmulhaq 
Updated Date

New Delhi: The Congress has been planning to do something new for its future campaigns following the three-day introspection and brainstorming session held in Udaipur, Rajasthan earlier this month.

Also Read :- RJD supremo Lalu Yadav's first video message after kidney transplant surgery | Watch

The party on Tuesday decided to form two major committees: a political affairs group and a task force to gear up to provide a stiff challenge to their opponents in the 2024 Lok Sabha polls. Before this, assembly elections in several states will take place in 2022 and 2023, which will reveal the party’s strategy and its success.

The Congress party’s Sandesh handle, which publicises party announcements, tweeted that party chief Sonia Gandhi “has constituted a Political Affairs Group that will be presided over by her, a Task-Force-2024 and a Central Planning Group for the coordination of the ‘Bharat Jodo Yatra’… with immediate effect.”

The party has chosen eight prominent members to serve on the political affairs committee. The prominent members are Rahul Gandhi, Digvijaya Singh, and Ambika Soni. Interestingly, Anand Sharma and Ghulam Nabi Azad have also been included in this elite group. Both were members of the G-23 group of leaders, demanding reforms in the party.

The grand old party has also announced the names of the eight members of its task force for 2024. Some of the notable names are P. Chidambaram, Jairam Ramesh, and Priyanka Gandhi Vadra. Poll strategist Sunil Kanugolu, also got a berth in the task force. He has worked for several parties earlier.

Also Read :- Gujarat police arrested Saket Gokhale over Morbi bridge collapse tweet, claims Derek O'Brien

The party will assign work to each member of a task force “related to organisation, communications and media, outreach, finance and election management”. The party said the task force would follow up on the declaration of the Udaipur conclave.

Meanwhile, Bharat Jodo Yatra will be based on nine members. Some of the prominent faces in this group are Digvijaya Singh, Sachin Pilot, and Shashi Tharoor.

Congress has done well to start its preparation two years before the general elections. The step looks positive, but members of all groups have to run from pillar to post to convince people who don’t like to listen to most of the Congress leaders. If all the members really work together and coordinate with the high command, then the revival of the party is not impossible.

Wasim Haque


Also Read :- Delhi MCD Election: AAP gets huge majority in Poll of Exit Polls, BJP may lose after 15 years

Further reading:
For the latest news and reviews, follow us on Facebook, YouTube and Twitter पर फॉलो करे...