1. Home
  2. Nation
  3. D Murmu, 1st tribal woman scripts history to be at top office, takes oath as India’s 15th President

D Murmu, 1st tribal woman scripts history to be at top office, takes oath as India’s 15th President

By Ruchi Upadhyay 
Updated Date

New Delhi: Today is the historic moment for India as the country has got the 64-year-old youngest President today. Droupadi Murmu has taken oath as the 15th President of the country, followed by a 21-gun salute. PM, Governors, CMs were at the oath ceremony. Chief Justice NV Ramana administered the oath of office to Draupadi Murmu in the Central Hall of Parliament. President Droupadi Murmu defeated the opposition candidate Yashwant Sinha in the election.

Also Read :- DGCA fines of ₹ 10 lakh on Go First airline after flight left behind 55 passengers in Bengaluru on Jan 9

Draupadi Murmu is the first to be born after independence and the youngest President to hold the top post. Along with this, she is also the second woman to become president and the first tribal president. Murmu has broken the record of former President Neelam Sanjiva Reddy. When Neelam Sanjiva Reddy took office, his age was 64 years 2 months 6 days. At the same time, Draupadi Murmu’s age is also 64 years, but on the day of taking oath, that is, her age is 64 years, one month and four days.

Draupadi Murmu was born on 20 June 1958. Murmu has been the Governor of Jharkhand and has been associated with the BJP for a long time. Draupadi Murmu, who belongs to the tribal community Santhal, has studied till BA. She obtained this degree from Ramadevi Women’s College, Bhubaneswar. Draupadi Murmu has started work in politics from ground zero. She first became a Nagar Panchayat councilor from Rairangpur in 1997. After this, she was also MLA from Rairangpur in Odisha for 2 times. She was also a minister in the coalition government of BJP and Biju Janata Dal.

Droupadi Murmu’s top quotes in historic address:

Satisfying to me that the people who were devoid of development for years -the poor, Dalits, backward, the tribals- can see me as their reflection. My nomination has blessings of the poor behind it, it’s a reflection of the dreams &capabilities of crores of women: President Murmu

Also Read :- DU students watch series on PM Modi on mobiles amid power cut; Azadi vs Jai Shri Ram slogans take place on campus

Tomorrow, that is July 26 is Kargil Victory Day. The day symbolizes both the valour and patience of the Indian forces. Today, I extend my advance greetings to the armed forces of the country and to all the citizens of the country on Kargil Victory Day: President Droupadi Murmu

It is a great privilege for me to be given this responsibility at such a historic time when India is gearing up to achieve its vision for the next 25 years: President Droupadi Murmu

I want to tell the youth of our country that you are not only building your future but also laying the foundation of future India. As the President of the country, I will always have your full cooperation: President Droupadi Murmu

I have closely observed the enthusiasm and self-confidence of the youth of the country. All of us revered Atal ji used to say that when the youth of the country move forward, they not only make their own destiny but also make the fate of the country. Today we are seeing it come true: President Droupadi Murmu

I am the first President of the country who was born in independent India. We will have to speed up our efforts to meet the expectations that our freedom fighters had with the citizens of independent India: President Droupadi Murmu

Also Read :- J&K: Rahul's Bharat Jodo Yatra suspended at Qazigund due to lapse in security cover

Many records are recorded in the name of President Draupadi Murmu even before this. Draupadi Murmu has also been the first woman governor of Jharkhand. President Draupadi Murmu is also the first governor of Jharkhand to complete a five-year term since its formation in 2000. She is also the first Odia leader who was made the governor.

In the election, President Murmu got more than 64 percent of the valid votes of MPs and MLAs including the electoral college and won the election by a huge margin. Murmu got 6,76,803 votes as against Sinha’s 3,80,177 votes.

For the latest news and reviews, follow us on Facebook, YouTube and Twitter पर फॉलो करे...