1. Home
  2. Region
  3. Delhi MCD bypolls: AP wins 4 of 5 wards, Congress secures Chauhan Banger

Delhi MCD bypolls: AP wins 4 of 5 wards, Congress secures Chauhan Banger

By Priyanka Verma 
Updated Date

The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) put on a good show in the five bye-elections to the Municipal Corporation of Delhi on Wednesday, winning four seats including Kalyanpuri, Rohini-C, Shalimar Bagh (North), and Trilokpuri. The Congress, on the other hand, won the Chauhan Banger ward.

Also Read :- Enforcement Directorate files 3,000 pages charge sheet in Delhi liquor excise policy case

Following the sweeping victory, the AAP convener and Delhi chief minister, Arvind Kejriwal took to Twitter congratulate on the win. “The people of Delhi once again voted in the name of work. Congratulations to everyone. The 15-year-old BJP’s misrule in MCD has disturbed the people. People are now eager to form Aam Aadmi Party government in MCD also,” he wrote on Twitter.

Delhi deputy chief minister Manish Sisodia also congratulated the party workers on the micro-blogging site. “Congratulations to the Aam Aadmi Party workers on winning 4 out of 5 seats in the MCD by-election,” the AAP leader said.

The AAP won Rohini-C (Ward No 32N), Trilokpuri (Ward No 02E), Kalyanpuri (Ward 008-E) and Shalimar Bagh North (Ward No 62N); while Congress’ Zubair Ahmad Chaudhary bagged Chauhan Banger by 10,642 votes.

These by-elections were being closely watched by the observers as the results of these elections will be indicating the mood of the voters and are likely to have an impact on the big-ticket Delhi civic body elections, to be held in 2022.

Also Read :- Veteran Hindi and Marathi actor Vikram Gokhale passes away at the age of 77

More than 50 per cent votes were cast in the by poll for the five municipal ward held on February 28. In Kalyanpuri, the highest voting percentage was recorded. Shalimar Bagh recorded the lowest voting percentage.

As per official figures, 59.19% votes were cast in Kalyanpuri, 55.95% in Trilokpuri, 55.60% in Chauhan Bangar.

The fight at the five wards is between the AAP, Bhartiya Janata Party and the Congress. All of them have express confidence that they will emerge victorious in the by-polls, being held under strict Covid-19 protocols.

Out of the five wards, four were held by the AAP while Shalimar Bagh North had a BJP councillor. The by-polls were necessitated after sitting councillors contested the assembly polls last year and became MLAs.

Also Read :- Anand Teltumbde, 73, Elgar Parishad case accused released from Navi Mumbai prison
For the latest news and reviews, follow us on Facebook, YouTube and Twitter पर फॉलो करे...