1. Home
  2. Nation
  3. Delimitation commission proposes 6 additional seats for Jammu, 1 for Kashmir

Delimitation commission proposes 6 additional seats for Jammu, 1 for Kashmir

By Saima Siddiqui 
Updated Date

New Delhi: The Delimitation Commission set up to redraw the assembly seats of the union territory of Jammu and Kashmir, proposed six additional seats for Jammu region and one for Kashmir Valley in its ‘Paper 1’ of the draft proposal discussed during its meeting with the associate members in New Delhi on Monday. Union minister Jitendra Singh and National Conference leader Farooq Abdullah were among those who attended the meeting.

Also Read :- On Independence Day, Grenade attack by terrorists at 2 places in J&K within half an hour; Cops, civilians injured

The commission on Monday called five Jammu and Kashmir MPs, including National Conference’s (NC) Farooq Abdullah, M Akbar Lone and Hasnain Masoodi, BJP’s spokesperson for J&K Jitendra Singh and BJP’s Jugal Kishore Sharma.

The panel of proposed nine seats for STs and seven for SCs in Jammu and Kashmir, sources said. This is the first time that seats have been proposed for STs in J&K, they said. It has asked the associate members to submit their suggestions by the end of December.

To note, the Delimitation Commission is headed by former Supreme Court judge Ranjana Prakash Desai. Chief Election Commissioner Sushil Chandra is an ex-officio member of the panel.

Also Read :- After flash floods due to cloudburst, Amarnath Yatra restarts today, search continues for pilgrims missing in tragedy
Further reading:
For the latest news and reviews, follow us on Facebook, YouTube and Twitter पर फॉलो करे...