1. Home
  2. Region
  3. Dharam Singh Dhani quits Yogi cabinet, says 1 minister will resign from UP cabinet daily till Jan 20

Dharam Singh Dhani quits Yogi cabinet, says 1 minister will resign from UP cabinet daily till Jan 20

By Priyanka Verma 
Updated Date

Lucknow: The jolt to the BJP in Uttar Pradesh continues with Ayush minister Dharam Singh Saini resigning from the Yogi Cabinet on Thursday. Dalit leader, four-time MLA from the Nakud assembly, sent his resignation to the UP governor and then, according to the sequence of the previous big-ticket switchover, Samajwadi chief Akhilesh Yadav tweeted a photo with Saini like he did with Maurya and Dara Singh Chauhan, posing in front of cabinets full of books.

Also Read :- "UP may become Kashmir, Bengal or Kerela": CM Yogi's 'warning' ahead of vote

This is the eighth exit from the BJP in three days, with a crucial election less than a month away. They are all tipped to join Akhilesh Yadav’s Samajwadi Party.

Dharam Singh Saini became the third minister to resign from the Yogi Cabinet just ahead of the high-octane elections following Dara Singh Chauhan and Swami Prasad Maurya.

“I have resigned because for five years Dalits, backward classes were suppressed, their voices were suppressed… We will do whatever Swami Prasad Maurya will say. One minister and 3-4 MLAs will resign every day till Jan 20,” he said.

Also Read :- PM Modi likely to meet BJP MPs from UP over breakfast, elections on the agenda

SP chief Akhilesh Yadav said in a tweet in Hindi, “With the arrival of Dr Dharam Singh Saini Ji, another warrior of ‘Social Justice’ has joined our ‘positive and progressive politics’ and added more enthusiasm and strength.”

Also Read :- Jinnah's followers ruined Western UP but now, this region gets new identity: CM Yogi

When Maurya left the party, Saini said he was aware that his name was on the list of MLAs that Maurya presented and claimed that these MLAs would be leaving the BJP, but asserted that he will not leave the party.

Meanwhile, the exodus of the MLAs from the BJP continues with Mukesh Verma, Vinay Shakya, Roshan Lal Varma, Brajesh Prajapati, Bhagwati Sagar, Dara Singh Chauhan, Avtar Singh Bhadana having already resigned from the party after Maurya left the BJP.

“Since the voices of the backward classes, Dalits, unemployed youth, traders of medium and small scale industries and shopkeepers among others are being ignored, I am resigning from the primary membership of the party,” Mukesh Verma, who resigned from the party early on Thursday, stated in a letter to BJP state president Swatantra Dev Singh. He said he will continue the ‘fight for justice’ under Other Backward Classes (OBC) leader Swami Prasad Maurya.

The loss of the BJP in Uttar Pradesh is likely to be the gain for Akhilesh as Maurya said he will be joining teh Samajwadi Party on January 14. “I will be joining the Samajwadi Party on 14th January. I have not received calls from any small or big politician. If they were cautious on time and worked on public issues, then BJP would not have faced this. Whether the BJP leaders are big or small in power and position, it doesn’t matter to me as the arrow has come out of the bow. Now, there is no question of returning,” Maurya said.

OBC leader Om Prakash Rajbhar on Wednesday claimed that one to two ministers would quit the Yogi Adityanath Cabinet daily and this figure would go up to 18 by January 20. “I had realised BJP’s apathy towards Dalits, backwards and the deprived sections of the society in a short time after joining the government in 2017 but these people waited all these days and, left with no hope, are quitting it now,” the Suheldev Bharatiya Samaj Party chief said.

Also Read :- Purvanchal will emerge as a medical hub under BJP: PM Modi in UP
Further reading:
For the latest news and reviews, follow us on Facebook, YouTube and Twitter पर फॉलो करे...