1. Home
  2. Politics
  3. DMK strikes seat-sharing deal with Cong, allots 25 seats for Tamil Nadu polls

DMK strikes seat-sharing deal with Cong, allots 25 seats for Tamil Nadu polls

By Priyanka Verma 
Updated Date

Tamil Nadu Congress President KS Alagiri on Sunday said that the party has signed a seat-sharing agreement with the Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK) and will contest on 25 Assembly seats. Alagiri also announced that the party will contest the by-polls to the Kanyakumari Lok Sabha seat.

Also Read :- Money Laundering Case: Hrishikesh Deshmukh, son of former Maharashtra minister, gets bail

“We have signed a seat-sharing agreement with DMK. Congress will contest in 25 assembly seats and in the byelection to the Kanyakumari Lok Sabha seat,” Alagiri told reporters in Chennai.

“This election is more about the need to strengthening the secular plank more than the number of seats. To prevent the spread of the BJP, which is more dangerous than the corona virus, all secular parties had to join hands with the single aim of defeating the BJP and its allies, ” Alagiri told reporters after signing the deal.

Congress leader in-charge of Tamil Nadu, Puducherry and Goa, Dinesh Gundu Rao and Alagiri met Stalin on Saturday. The meeting went on till late on Saturday night during which the formal seat-sharing agreement was reached.

“Congress, DMK, Left VKC will sweep these elections,” Dinesh Gundu Rao said after Sunday’s meeting.

Also Read :- Gujarat assembly polls: Former BJP minister Jaynarayan Vyas joins Congress

The seat-sharing arrangement was finalized just ahead of the DMK’s grand rally scheduled for today. Stalin will release the party’s 10-year vision document at the rally.

Earlier on Saturday, the DMK hammered out seat-sharing arrangement with its other allies too, most notably the Marumalarchi Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam or MDMK. Its chief Vaiko signed the agreement with Stalin on Saturday.

This is the first time the MDMK will contest the Tamil Nadu Assembly election together with the DMK since it was founded in 1994 after Vaiko was ousted from the then M Karuna Nidhi-led DMK.

“MDMK has joined hands with DMK. The talks went well. DMK president MK Stalin has signed an agreement in which six Assembly constituencies have been allotted to MDMK,” Vaiko told reporters on Saturday.

The polls to elect 234 new members of the Tamil Nadu assembly will be held in a single phase on April 6 and the counting of votes will be done on May 2.

Also Read :- South Delhi school gets bomb threat via e-mail; bomb disposal squad reaches spot

Ruling All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK) is contesting the polls in a pre-poll alliance with the Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP). Actor-turned-politician Kamal Hassan’s party Makkal Neethi Maiam (MNM) is also in the fray.

For the latest news and reviews, follow us on Facebook, YouTube and Twitter पर फॉलो करे...