1. Home
  2. Cricket
  3. England vs India 1st Test: England elect to bat first

England vs India 1st Test: England elect to bat first

By Team Pardaphash 
Updated Date

England skipper Joe Root today win the toss and elected to bat first against India in the opener of the five-Test rubber at the Edgbaston Cricket Ground.

Also Read :- IND vs ENG-W, 3rd ODI: Renuka Singh's 4 wickets helped India beat England by 16 runs, bid farewell to Jhulan Goswami

India have surprisingly left Test specialist Cheteshwar Pujara out of the playing XI with Lokesh Rahul taking his No.3 place, and picked four quick bowlers with Ravichandran Ashwin as the lone specialist spinner.

England on the other hand, already announced their playing XI on Tuesday with leg-spinner Adil Rashid making his comeback to the longer format after a two-year gap.


England: Alastair Cook, Keaton Jennings, Joe Root (Captain), Dawid Malan, Jonny Bairstow (WK), Ben Stokes, Jos Buttler, Sam Curran, Adil Rashid, Stuart Broad, James Anderson.

Also Read :- Ind vs Aus T20: Chaos at Gymkhana Ground, police lathi-charged, 4 injured as crowd gathered to buy tickets

India: Murali Vijay, Shikhar Dhawan, Lokesh Rahul, Virat Kohli (Captain), Ajinkya Rahane, Dinesh Karthik (WK), Hardik Pandya, Ravichandran Ashwin, Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Ishant Sharma.

For the latest news and reviews, follow us on Facebook, YouTube and Twitter पर फॉलो करे...