1. Home
  2. Politics
  3. Ex Punjab Minister and Veteran Akali leader Tota Singh passes away at 81

Ex Punjab Minister and Veteran Akali leader Tota Singh passes away at 81

By Priyanka Verma 
Updated Date

New Delhi: Former Punjab minister and Senior Shiromani Akali Dal leader Tota Singh passed away on Saturday, May 21, at the age of 81 years. He was admitted to a private hospital for prolonged illness.

Also Read :- Delhi: Youtuber booked for extorting Rs 80 lakh from businessman after threatening to implicate him in false rape case

In a tweet in Punjabi, Punjab Chief Minister Bhagwant Mann expressed grief over Tota Singh’s death.

Also Read :- RJD supremo Lalu Yadav's first video message after kidney transplant surgery | Watch

SAD chief Sukhbir Singh Badal said Singh was a father figure to him.

“Deeply saddened to learn about the demise of senior Akali leader Jathedar Tota Singh Ji. Jathedar Sahab was a father figure to me & a source of inspiration for all of us. His invaluable advice & wise counsel will always be missed. I stand with the Brar family in this hour of grief,” Badal tweeted.

Also Read :- IMD: Six NDRF teams deployed in Tamil Nadu in view of heavy rains on 8th December

Former Punjab chief minister Amarinder Singh said, “My heartfelt condolences are with the family of former agriculture minister Jathedar Tota Singh ji who passed away today. I pray to Waheguru Ji to grant eternal peace to the departed soul and strength to the family to bear this loss.”

Tota Singh had served as the agriculture and education minister in the Akali government. He was the senior vice-president and a member of the core committee of the SAD.He was also a member of the Shiromani Gurdwara Parbandhak Committee.

Tota Singh was elected as legislator for the first time from the Moga Assembly seat in 1997. He was inducted as education minister in the Parkash Singh Badal-led government at that time.

He was re-elected from Moga in the 2002 Assembly elections but he lost in 2007. Tota Singh was elected from the Dharamkot Assembly seat in 2012 and became the agriculture minister. He, however, lost the assembly elections in 2017 and 2022.

Further reading:
For the latest news and reviews, follow us on Facebook, YouTube and Twitter पर फॉलो करे...