Starting from May 15, its functionality will become more limited, and users will no longer be able to send or read messages from the app. They’ll still be able to receive calls and notifications, but only for a “short time,” as this period will last a few weeks.
As confirmed by TechCrunch, WhatsApp in an email to one of its merchant partners said it will “slowly ask” uncooperative users to comply “in order to have full functionality of the app.” Those who refuse consent will, “for a short time” (i.e. a few weeks) still be able to receive calls and notifications, but most important of all, they won’t be able to read or send messages from the app anymore.
“The first thing, which is the most important to know, is that WhatsApp cannot read your personal messages, and we cannot hear your personal calls,” company head Will Cathcart said in a Thursday video.
The chat service came under heavy backlash last month when it warned folks they had until February 8 to agree to planned changes, which deal primarily with businesses using WhatsApp to send and store consumer texts. Poor communication regarding exactly what the update entails prompted outcry about how much personal data is shared with parent company Facebook.
Furthermore, WhatsApp says that it won’t delete any accounts that haven’t accepted the new terms on May 15th, however, it cautions that it generally deletes accounts after they’re inactive for 120 days.