1. Home
  2. Politics
  3. Gujarat assembly election: Final phase of polling begins, PM Modi casts his vote in Ahmedabad

Gujarat assembly election: Final phase of polling begins, PM Modi casts his vote in Ahmedabad

Voting is going on for the second and final phase of Gujarat assembly elections. Prime Minister Narendra Modi casts his vote in Ahmedabad. The Election Commission has asked people to vote in large numbers.

By Ruchi Upadhyay 
Updated Date

Ahmedabad: Voting for the second phase of Gujarat Assembly Elections 2022 is going on. Prime Minister Narendra Modi voted in the polling booth built at Nishan Public School in Ranip area of ​​Ahmedabad. Voters expressed happiness on seeing PM Modi at the booth. The PM also accepted the greetings of the voters. Coming out of the booth, PM Modi also showed the mark of ink. At the same time, Home Minister Amit Shah is also in Gujarat today. They will also vote in the morning itself.

Also Read :- Gurugram horror: 13-Year-old domestic help physically abused, tortured by couple; Rescued

“Urging all those who are voting in Phase 2 of the Gujarat elections, particularly the young voters and women voters to vote in large numbers. I will be casting my vote in Ahmedabad at around 9 AM,” PM Modi tweeted.

Some key points:
There was low turnout in the first phase of Gujarat elections. For this, the Election Commission also criticized the apathy of the urban voters of Gujarat.

Home Minister Amit Shah will also vote in Ahmedabad. Chief Minister Bhupendra Patel casts his vote for the second phase of Gujarat Assembly elections at Booth 95, Shilaj Anupam School in Ahmedabad

In the second phase, voting is being held on 93 seats in Central and North Gujarat districts. Around 833 candidates are in the fray.

Also Read :- Pakistan: Two vehicles plunged into ravine after colliding with each other in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa; 30 Killed, 15 injured

All 16 urban seats in Ahmedabad are crucial for the BJP. Since 1990, the BJP has dominated these elections.

The Congress had improved its seats in the last election in Ahmedabad. In 2012, it won two seats and in 2017 it won 4 seats. This time the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) has made the contest interesting by fielding candidates on all 16 seats.

In the Muslim-dominated Jamalpur Khadia seat in Ahmedabad, AIMIM’s entry of Asaduddin Owaisi may upset the Congress, as AIMIM’s candidate Sabir Kabliwala is a former Congress MLA. Sabir contested as an independent in 2012. Due to this BJP got victory from here. Congress votes were divided because of Sabir.

BJP and Aam Aadmi Party are contesting on all 93 seats. Congress is contesting on 90 seats and its ally Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) has fielded its candidates on two seats.

In the second phase, Chief Minister Bhupendra Patel is contesting from Ghatlodiya in Ahmedabad. Patidar leader Hardik Patel is fighting on a BJP ticket from Viramgam seat in Ahmedabad. Alpesh Thakor is also contesting as a BJP candidate from Gandhinagar South.

Also Read :- Delhi liquor policy case: CBI arrests ex-chartered accountant of BRS leader K Kavitha

Dalit leader Jignesh Mevani is contesting as the Congress candidate from Vadgam seat in Banaskantha district, and Leader of the Opposition in the Gujarat Assembly Sukhram Rathwa is the Congress candidate from Jetpur in Chhota Udepur district.

About 2.51 crore people can vote in the second phase. According to the Election Commission, 5.96 lakh of these voters are in the age group of 18-19 years. The counting of votes will take place on December 8.

For the latest news and reviews, follow us on Facebook, YouTube and Twitter पर फॉलो करे...