1. Home
  2. Politics
  3. Gujarat local bodies polls: BJP surges ahead of Congress

Gujarat local bodies polls: BJP surges ahead of Congress

By Priyanka Verma 
Updated Date

The Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP) on Tuesday won 2,085 seats gaining a lead ahead of Congress which won 602 seats so far across various municipalities, district and taluka panchayats in Gujarat.

Also Read :- Woman hits man with slippers during at an event for Shraddha justice in Delhi

The results for 2,771 seats out of the total 8,474 were declared till 1 pm. Counting of votes is underway since 9 am in 81 municipalities, 31 district panchayats, and 231 taluka panchayats where elections were held on Sunday.

Results of the Nagar Palika, Taluka Panchayat and District Panchayat polls across Gujarat give a crystal clear message- Gujarat is firmly with the BJP’s agenda of development and good governance. I bow to the people of Gujarat for the unwavering faith and affection towards BJP, PM Modi tweeted.

As per State Election Commission (SEC), total seats across the three local bodies are 8,474 and candidates in 237 seats remain unopposed. Bye-elections were also held for two seats in taluka panchayats and 24 seats in municipalities.

New entrant Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) has won 15 seats, Bahujan Samaj Party-5, while independents have won 42 seats, it said. In municipalities, the BJP has so far won 803 seats and the Congress-159.

Also Read :- TN BJP claims security breach occurred during PM Modi's visit for Chess Olympiad, submits memorandum to Guv Ravi

In district panchayats, the BJP has till now bagged 246 seats and the Congress-55.

In taluka panchayats, the BJP has so far emerged victorious in 1,036 seats and the Congress in 388 seats.

More than 58,000 poll and security personnel are involved in the counting being conducted at 542 centres in Gujarat, the SEC said.

“The victory is a result of hard work by party workers and welfare schemes of the government. We have turned around all the setbacks of 2015,” said state BJP president C R Paatil.

He added, “The people have shown their faith in the leadership of the PM and CM. This result is a reflection of how the government and party have worked together for the welfare of people. I assure all citizens that the BJP will fulfill all their expectations.”

Also Read :- Telangana cops tow car with YS Sharmila Reddy sitting inside for protesting against CM

Chief minister Vijay Rupani added, “The saffron flag has been hoisted all over the state. The foundation has been laid today for the BJP’s victory in the 2022 election.”

“People have voted for the leadership of PM Narendra Modi and Union home minister Amit Shah,” he said.

“I congratulate CR Paatil for this unprecedented victory. People have given us a huge mandate and we will fulfill their expectations. The Congress and AAP are not even close to get opposition status,” he concluded.

For the latest news and reviews, follow us on Facebook, YouTube and Twitter पर फॉलो करे...