1. Home
  2. Nation
  3. Gyanesh Bharti appointed as commissioner of Unified MCD, Ashwani Kumar as special officer: MHA

Gyanesh Bharti appointed as commissioner of Unified MCD, Ashwani Kumar as special officer: MHA

By Ruchi Upadhyay 
Updated Date

New Delhi: The Ministry of Home Affairs on Friday issued a notification appointing 1992 batch IAS officer Ashwani Kumar as Special Officer of the Integrated Municipal Corporation of Delhi (MCD). At the same time, the current South MCD Commissioner Gyanesh Bharti has been appointed as the Commissioner of Integrated MCD.

Also Read :- Home Ministry approves ₹1,682,11 crore assistance for floods, landslides in 2021. deets here

Gyanesh Bharti is a 1998 batch IAS officer of Arunachal Pradesh, Goa, Mizoram and Union Territories (AGMUT) cadre. Bharti has also previously worked as a Deputy Commissioner in the corporation.
Ashwani Kumar, a 1992-batch IAS officer of the AGMUT cadre, was earlier posted as the chief secretary of Puducherry. Bharti, a 1998-batch IAS officer of the AGMUT cadre, is currently the commissioner of the South Delhi Municipal Corporation.

“In exercise of the powers conferred by sub-section (1) of section 3 of the Delhi Municipal Corporation (Amendment) Act, 2022 (10 of 2022), the Central Government hereby appoints the 22nd day of May 2022 on which the Municipal Corporation of Delhi shall be constituted,” another notification reads.

The bill was passed by the Lok Sabha on March 30 and the Rajya Sabha on April 5. On April 18, President Ram Nath Kovind gave his approval.

The Municipal Corporation of Delhi was trifurcated in 2011 when Sheila Dikshit was the chief minister of Delhi and the Congress-led UPA was in power at the Centre.

According to the legislation, the unification of Delhi’s municipal corporations will enable synergistic and strategic planning, as well as efficient resource use.

Several opposition parties, including the AAP, had opposed the legislation to reunify the MCDs in Parliament.

According to the legislation, the total number of seats of councillors and the number of seats reserved for the members of the Scheduled Caste (SC) communities in the corporation shall be as determined by the Centre and in no case be more than 250.

Further reading:
For the latest news and reviews, follow us on Facebook, YouTube and Twitter पर फॉलो करे...