1. Home
  2. Nation
  3. Historic moment: PM after ISRO launches Brazil’s Amazonia-1 satellite

Historic moment: PM after ISRO launches Brazil’s Amazonia-1 satellite

By Priyanka Verma 
Updated Date

PM Narendra Modi on Sunday hailed the launch of Brazil’s Amazonia-1 satellite by the Indian Space Research Organization’s (ISRO) PSLV-C51,saying that it was a historic moment in space cooperation between the two countries.

Also Read :- AAP secures majority to win MCD elections; it dethrones BJP’s 15-year reign

Congratulated Brazilian President Jair Bolsonaro and said, “This is a historic moment in our space cooperation and my felicitations to the scientists of Brazil,” he tweeted.

The PM also congratulated the NewSpace India Limited (NSIL) and ISRO on the success of the launch.

“Congratulations to NSIL and @isro on the success of the 1st dedicated commercial launch of PSLV-C51/Amazonia-1 Mission. This ushers in a new era of Space reforms in the country. 18 co-passengers included four small satellites that showcase dynamism and innovation of our youth,” he tweeted.

Earlier today, ISRO chief K Sivan said that India and ISRO feel proud to launch Brazil’s Amazonia-1 satellite.

Also Read :- IND vs BAN 2nd ODI: Indian captain Rohit Sharma rushed to hospital for scans after fielding injury

“In this mission, India and ISRO, feel extremely proud, honoured and happy to launch the first satellite designed, integrated and operated by Brazil. I congratulate the Brazilian team on this achievement. The satellite is in very good health and I congratulate all for this and compliment the entire Brazilian team,” Sivan said after the launch event.

Amazonia-1, an optical earth observation satellite, which was launched at 10:24 am on Sunday, successfully separated from the fourth stage of PSLVC51 and injected into orbit, ISRO informed in a tweet. Polar Satellite Launch Vehicle (PSLV-C51), which is the 53rd mission of PSLV launched Amazonia-1 of Brazil as the primary satellite. A total of 18 Co-passenger satellites were also lifted off from the Satish Dhawan Space Centre at 10:24 am on Sunday. The 18 co-passenger satellites include four from IN-SPACe (three UNITYsats from the consortium of three Indian academic institutes and One Satish Dhawan Sat from Space Kidz India) and 14 from NSIL.

For the latest news and reviews, follow us on Facebook, YouTube and Twitter पर फॉलो करे...