1. Home
  2. Cricket
  3. India created history by defeating England by 7 wickets to win the first U19 T20 World Cup

India created history by defeating England by 7 wickets to win the first U19 T20 World Cup

INDW vs ENGW, Women's U19 T20 World Cup Final 2023: In the final of the Women's Under-19 T20 World Cup, India won the title for the first time by defeating England by 7 wickets.

By Ruchi Upadhyay 
Updated Date

New Delhi: The Indian women’s team created history by defeating England by 7 wickets in the final of the Under-19 T20 World Cup in Potchefstroom on Sunday. India became the first country to win the Women’s Under-19 World Cup title. Team India achieved the target of 69 runs in 14 overs after losing three wickets. In which Saumya Tiwari (24 not out) and Gongadi Trisha (24) scored the most runs. While for England, Stonehouse, Scrivens and Baker took one wicket each.

Also Read :- BCCI chief selector Chetan Sharma resigns amid row over alleged remarks in a sting operation

Earlier, due to the extraordinary performance of the Indian bowlers, the England team was all out for 68 runs in 17.1 overs in the title match. In which Ryan McDonald was the top scorer of his team by scoring 19 runs. Titas Sandhu, Archana Devi and Parshvi Chopra took two wickets each for India. While Shefali Verma, Mannat Kashyap and Sonam Yadav took one victim each.

Internationally, Shafali Verma, who has been part of the finals of two World Cups and one Commonwealth Games with the Indian women’s senior team, has made a big achievement by winning the trophy under her captaincy.

Both the teams were as follows:
India Women’s Under-19 (Playing XI): Shefali Verma (c), Shweta Sehrawat, Soumya Tiwari, Gongadi Trisha, Richa Ghosh (wk), Harshita Basu, Titas Sandhu, Mannat Kashyap, Archana Devi, Parshvi Chopra, Sonam Yadav.

England Women’s Under-19s (Playing XI): Grace Scrivens (c), Liberty Heap, Niamh Fiona Holland, Serene Smale (wk), Ryan McDonald Gay, Charis Powell, Alexa Stonehouse, Sophia Smale, Josie Groves, Ellie Anderson, Hannah Baker .

Also Read :- Watch: Hardik Pandya hands over the winning T20I series trophy to Prithvi Shaw

Further reading:
For the latest news and reviews, follow us on Facebook, YouTube and Twitter पर फॉलो करे...