1. Home
  2. Sports
  3. India v/s Sri Lanka 3rd ODI : Fernando at Colombo beats India by 3 Wickets

India v/s Sri Lanka 3rd ODI : Fernando at Colombo beats India by 3 Wickets

By Ruchi Upadhyay 
Updated Date

Highlights: Sri Lanka defeated India by three wickets in the third and final One-day International here at the R Premadasa Stadium on Friday night.Half-centuries from Avishka Fernando and Bhanuka Rajapaksa on Friday propelled the hosts to a three-wicket victory against India despite a late slide. Dhawan’s boys win the series 2-1.

Also Read :- ICC's big announcement, Dates for the World Test Championship 2023 final revealed

That brings us to the end of the ODI series, with India emerging winners in the three-match rubber by a 2-1 margin despite missing several of their key players who are in a different part of the world in very different conditions. India played well in patches today after bringing in six new faces including five uncapped players, especially with their batting performance before the rain break and with the ball towards the closing stages of the Sri Lankan chase, but in the end it was not meant to be as the Sri Lankans emerged deserved winners — the three-wicket victory ending their nine-year winless run at home against the Indians.
Chasing 227 for a win under D/L calculations, Sri Lanka reached the target with 48 balls to spare. They reached 227 for 7 in 39 overs. The match had been reduced to 47-overs-a-side due to rain. India, however, won the series 2-1.

Opener Avishka Fernando top-scored with 76 while one-down Bhanuka Rajapaksa contributed a 56-ball 65 to help Sri Lanka script the win. For India, Rahul Chahar was the most successful bowler with three wickets for 54 runs. The match was reduced to a 47-over-a-side affair after rain interruption in the first innings.

Opting to bat, India were all out for 225 in 43.1 overs. Prithvi Shaw (49), Sanju Samson (46) and Suryakumar Yadav (40) were the notable contributors but none could score big.

For Sri Lanka, Akila Dananjaya and Praveen Jayawickrama took three wickets apiece. India have already clinched the three-match series after winning the first two matches.

Also Read :- Women T20 World Cup 2023: Harman Brigade will start its campaign against Pakistan, know India's complete schedule

For the latest news and reviews, follow us on Facebook, YouTube and Twitter पर फॉलो करे...