1. Home
  2. Nation
  3. India’s 15th presidential election today: 4,000 MPs & MLAs to cast vote, Droupadi Murmu vs Yashwant Sinha in the race

India’s 15th presidential election today: 4,000 MPs & MLAs to cast vote, Droupadi Murmu vs Yashwant Sinha in the race

By Ruchi Upadhyay 
Updated Date

New Delhi: Historic first for India. 4,000 MPs and MLAs will vote today to elect the 15th President of India. Voting for the next President of India will be held today i.e. on 18th July. Voting will be held from 10 am to 5 pm. Counting of votes will take place on July 21 and the swearing-in of the next President will take place on July 25. Droupadi Murmu, the first tribal woman and NDA candidate, former Union Minister Yashwant Sinha from the United Progressive Alliance (UPA) are the candidates for the post of President.

Also Read :- Watch: Shocking video of the exact moment Odisha Health Minister was shot emerges

Droupadi Murmu has previously been the Governor of Jharkhand. When elected tribal leader Murmu, Murmu will be the first President of India to belong to the tribal community. At the same time, opposition parties have bet on the name of former Union Minister Yashwant Sinha, who was once a big leader of BJP. Sinha had left the BJP in 2018 and alleged that the BJP did not have the internal democracy it used to be.

This time in the presidential election, NDA’s candidate Droupadi Murmu seems to have a bigger edge than the opposition’s candidate Yashwant Sinha, as some opposition parties have also announced their support for Murmu.

Draupadi Murmu was seen moving ahead in arithmetic. After all, how did this happen, understand through the figures – there are a total of 10 lakh 81 thousand 991 votes in the presidential election including MPs and MLAs. The majority figure for victory in the presidential election is 5 lakh 40 thousand 996.

6 lakh 66 thousand 28 votes in support of Draupadi
BJP has made him a candidate who has about four and a half lakh votes. At the same time, about forty five thousand votes of YSR Congress is also believed to be fixed for him, while BJD has about thirty one thousand votes. On the other hand, JDU is standing with Murmu with more than 14 thousand votes and others have 93 thousand votes. That is, total – 6 lakh 66 thousand 28 votes are seen in support of Murmu. Others include Shiv Sena which includes Uddhav faction and Shinde faction, JD(S), BSP, Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM), Akali Dal and SBSP.

Also Read :- Air Asia Kolkata-bound flight makes emergency landing in Lucknow after it suffered a bird strike

TMC-DMK, AAP vote for Yashwant Sinha
On the other hand, Congress is the largest party supporting the opposition candidate Yashwant Sinha with about one lakh thirty seven thousand votes. Trinamool has more than 58 thousand votes. DMK has about 45 thousand votes, SP has more than 27 thousand votes. TRS has more than 24 thousand votes, AAP has about 21 thousand votes and others – 88 thousand 212 votes i.e. total is 4 lakh 13 thousand 728 votes.

Others include NCP, RJD, CPI, CPIM, AIMIM. Numbers stack up in favor of Droupadi Murmu. So 4 lakh 13 thousand 728 votes in favor of Yashwant Sinha. Whereas for the majority, 5 lakh 40 thousand 996. That is, the figures are saying that Droupadi Murmu can become the first tribal woman to reach the top constitutional post.

If Droupadi Murmu wins, she will be the country’s first tribal woman president, and she will be the country’s second woman and youngest president. The first woman President was Smt. Pratibha Patil, who was the 12th President of the country from July 25, 2007 to July 25, 2012.

Let us tell you that the election of the Vice President will also be held on 6th August. For this, the NDA has so far made Jagdeep Dhankhar, serving as the Governor of West Bengal, its candidate. Dhankhar has resigned from his post after his candidature was announced. At the same time, the opposition has made its candidate Margaret Alva, former governor of Rajasthan.

Also Read :- Veteran Kannada actor Mandeep Roy, 74, dies of heart attack, worked in over 500 films
For the latest news and reviews, follow us on Facebook, YouTube and Twitter पर फॉलो करे...