1. Home
  2. Sports
  3. India’s schedule for 2nd edition of the WTC announced

India’s schedule for 2nd edition of the WTC announced

By Saima Siddiqui 
Updated Date

Southampton: Even though Team India ruled the points table of the World Test Championship (WTC) for past two years by giving some extraordinary performances in the game, this time it failed to excel in the final of the WTC match, ending as the runners-up in the tournament.

Also Read :- India breaks jinx with 4-3 victory over Australia in third hockey Test, its first victory against Kookaburras in 13 years

India lost the test match against New Zealand in the finals by eight wickets. However, it’s now time for the team to learn the lesson from their mistakes and concentrate on the new WTC cycle that will be played from July 2021 to 2023. According to India’s 2021-23 Future Tour Programmes (FTP), the side will feature in as many as six Test series including three home series and as many away tours.

India will kickstart their run in the second edition of the WTC with a five-match away Test series against England. The Test series will be played from August 4 to September 14.

-India tour of England, 2021

-August 4-8: England vs India, First Test, Trent Bridge

Also Read :- India beats Bangladesh in nail biting finish and inches closer to semifinal berth

-August 12-16: England vs India, Second Test, Lord’s

-August 25-29: England vs India, Third Test, Headingley

-September 2-6: England vs India, Fourth Test, Kennington Oval

-September 10-14: England vs India, Fifth Test, Old Trafford

India to lock horns in Test series with New Zealand in November 2021

Also Read :- Pakistan govt's official twitter account closed for 2nd time in a month in India

After the England series, India now has a chance to avenge the WTC final loss. New Zealand is scheduled to travel to India for a two-match Test series in November 2021. Though the schedule is yet to be revealed, the series is likely to be hosted after the T20 World Cup.

Following the Test series against New Zealand, Kohli and Co. will square off against South Africa in a three-match Test series. The series between India and South Africa is scheduled to take place in December 2021 and January 2022. In early 2022, the team will host Sri Lanka for three Test matches. This will be the second home series in the World Test Championship.

The third home series will come against Australia in the second half of 2022. The two teams will fight for the Border-Gavaskar Trophy in a four-match Test series. Notably, India has secured victory in the last two Border-Gavaskar Trophies hosted in Australia.

India will end their league stage of the second edition of the WTC with a two-match Test series against Bangladesh.

Further reading:
For the latest news and reviews, follow us on Facebook, YouTube and Twitter पर फॉलो करे...