1. Home
  2. Sports
  3. IPL 14: Got congratulatory messages from Kohli, Rohit and Dhoni, recalls Samson after becoming RR captain

IPL 14: Got congratulatory messages from Kohli, Rohit and Dhoni, recalls Samson after becoming RR captain

By Priyanka Verma 
Updated Date

Rajasthan Royals (RR) are set to embark upon a new journey when they will kick off their IPL 2021 edition, on April 11 versus the Punjab Kings (PKBS) in Mumbai. The one-time winner will be led by Sanju Samson, who was named as the captain of the franchise prior to the IPL mini-auction in Chennai earlier this year.

Also Read :- Lakshya Sen bows out in quarterfinals to local lad Jonatan Christie in Indonesia Masters

Samson, who has been part of the RR franchise since 2013 after representing the now-defunct Delhi Daredevils (DD) in 2016-17, will have a lot on his plate to take the side forward after they managed a bottom-spot finish despite some entertaining wins in IPL 2020.

Moreover, the new format of the IPL will surely add to Samson’s challenges, as all eight teams are set to play in neutral venues with the upcoming season to be held entirely in six cities in India due to the Covid-19 outbreak.

Nonetheless, Samson seems prepared and confident to take on a new challenge and try to learn from the likes of inspiring leaders in Indian cricket, such as Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma and MS Dhoni.

Ahead of RR’s season-opener, Samson recalled the congratulatory texts he got from Kohli, Dhoni and Rohit after being named as the Royals captain. He told HT, “It was tough keeping it to myself,” he said. After the news was official, a few text messages gave the 26-year-old more to cherish about. “I got some nice congratulatory messages from Virat bhai, Rohit bhai and Mahi bhai”, he revealed.

Also Read :- India off-spinner Axar Patel ties knot with Meha Patel in Vadodara. See wedding pics

Samson started the last IPL season with a bang before losing form in the latter stage of the tournament. He would like to address this issue and go all-out in the entire edition for the RR, also comprising Jos Buttler, Ben Stokes, Chris Morris, Rahul Tewatia, Jofra Archer, etc.

RR squad for IPL 2021 edition: Sanju Samson (captain), Ben Stokes, Jofra Archer, Jos Buttler, Riyan Parag, Shreyas Gopal, Rahul Tewatia, Mahipal Lomror, Kartik Tyagi, Andrew Tye, Jaydev Unadkat, Mayank Markande, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Anuj Rawat, David Miller, Manan Vohra, Christopher Morris, Shivam Dube, Chetan Sakariya, Mustafizur Rahman, Liam Livingstone, K.C. Cariappa, Akash Singh, Kuldip Yadav.

For the latest news and reviews, follow us on Facebook, YouTube and Twitter पर फॉलो करे...