1. Home
  2. Trending
  3. Italy’s Prime Minister, Giorgia Meloni, Lands in India for G20 Summit

Italy’s Prime Minister, Giorgia Meloni, Lands in India for G20 Summit

G20 Summit 2023 LIVE Updates: Italy's PM Giorgia Meloni Arrives in India to Participate, Welcomed with Cultural Dance at Delhi Airport

By Team Pardaphash 
Updated Date

Italian Prime Minister Giorgia Meloni has arrived in New Delhi to participate in the G20 Summit, hosted by India from September 9-10. She received a warm welcome from Union Minister of State for Agriculture and Farmers’ Welfare, Shobha Karandlaje, upon her arrival at the airport.

Also Read :- S. Jaishankar Urges Shift from "West Is The Bad Guy" Perspective, Addresses Globalization Challenges

Earlier this year in March, Meloni visited India to attend the eighth edition of the Raisina Dialogue. During her visit, she engaged in a bilateral meeting with Prime Minister Narendra Modi in New Delhi, leading to the elevation of the India-Italy partnership to a strategic level.

India and Italy share a historical relationship spanning over 2,000 years, with diplomatic ties established in 1947.

The G20 Summit is taking place at the newly inaugurated Bharat Mandapam at Pragati Maidan in the national capital. India assumed the G20 presidency on December 1 of the preceding year, and around 200 meetings related to the G20 were held in 60 cities across India.

This marks the inaugural G20 Summit during India’s presidency.

Also Read :- Abu Dhabi-bound IndiGo flight makes emergency landing at Delhi airport due to hydraulic system issue

The Group of Twenty (G20) was established in 1999 to ensure global financial stability, with the inclusion of middle-income countries. It serves as the primary platform for international economic cooperation and plays a vital role in shaping and reinforcing global governance on key international economic matters.

The G20 comprises 19 countries: Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, France, Germany, India, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, South Korea, Mexico, Russia, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, Turkey, the United Kingdom, and the United States, along with the European Union.

The 18th G20 Heads of State and Government Summit in New Delhi marks the culmination of a year of G20 processes and meetings involving ministers, senior officials, and civil society.

Brazil is slated to assume the next G20 presidency in 2024, followed by South Africa in 2025.

Also Read :- PM Modi to have dinner with Delhi cops deployed on G20 duty to appreciate their efforts

Further reading:
For the latest news and reviews, follow us on Facebook, YouTube and Twitter पर फॉलो करे...