1. Home
  2. Politics
  3. J-K: Vikar Rasool became the new state prez of Cong, after Ghulam Azad left the command of campaign

J-K: Vikar Rasool became the new state prez of Cong, after Ghulam Azad left the command of campaign

Jammu-Kashmir: Vikar Rasool became the new state president of Congress, after Ghulam Azad left the command of campaign

By Priyanka Verma 
Updated Date

Jammu-Kashmir: Congress President Sonia Gandhi has accepted the resignation of party’s Jammu and Kashmir unit president Ghulam Ahmed Mir. In his place, Vikar Rasool has been elected as the new president of the party’s Jammu and Kashmir unit. The party gave this information by issuing a release. Apart from these, Raman Bhalla has been given the responsibility of working president. Mir is also the chairman of the coordination committee.

Also Read :- Delhi: L-G Saxena approves convening of MCD House session to elect mayor on February 6

The All India Congress Committee (AICC) has made major changes in the Jammu and Kashmir Pradesh Congress Committee. While restructuring the state unit, the party high command had given former chief minister and senior leader Ghulam Nabi Azad many big responsibilities in view of the upcoming assembly elections, but he has refused to take up the post of the party’s J&K campaign committee chairman due to health reasons. He has conveyed this to the Congress leadership and has also thanked the leadership for giving him the responsibility.

Azad has been a prominent member of the ‘G23’ group of the Congress. With these new appointments, it is clear that the relationship between the Congress high command and Azad has improved. Azad had also participated in the Azadi Gaurav Yatra along with Rahul Gandhi on 15 August. Congress has appointed senior leader Raman Bhalla as working president of Pradesh Congress Committee. The party has also formed the Coordination Committee, Manifesto Committee, Publicity and Publicity Committee, Disciplinary Committee and State Election Committee for Jammu and Kashmir.

Senior Congress leader Saifuddin Soz has been made the head of the manifesto committee. The Legislative Assembly has ceased to exist in Jammu and Kashmir since the abrogation of the special provisions of Article 370 on August 05, 2019. The delimitation work has been completed. At present, nothing has been clarified by the government regarding the date of the assembly elections.

Also Read :- Mumbai: Huge fire breaks out at Ashok Mill Compound in Dharavi; One woman dead
For the latest news and reviews, follow us on Facebook, YouTube and Twitter पर फॉलो करे...