1. Home
  2. Nation
  3. Jammu & Kashmir separatist leader Yasin Malikgets gets life imprisonment in terror funding case

Jammu & Kashmir separatist leader Yasin Malikgets gets life imprisonment in terror funding case

By Priyanka Verma 
Updated Date

New Delhi: A Delhi court on Wednesday, May 25, awarded life imprisonment to Kashmiri separatist leader Yasin Malik in a terror funding case.The sentence came a week after his conviction. Malik had pleaded guilty to all charges, including those under the stringent Unlawful Activities Prevention Act (UAPA).

Also Read :- Delhi MCD Election: AAP gets huge majority in Poll of Exit Polls, BJP may lose after 15 years

The NIA today sought the death penalty before a Delhi court for the Kashmiri separatist. The agency told Special Judge Praveen Singh in an in-chamber proceedings that Malik was responsible for the Kashmiri exodus. The amicus curiae appointed by the court to assist Malik, sought minimum punishment, i.e., life imprisonment in the matter.

Meanwhile, Malik said that if Indian Intelligence can prove that he had been involved in any terrorist activity or violence in 28 years, then he would retire from politics, and will also accept the hanging.

However, The judge said that since he has already been convicted, there was no point in arguing on the facts of the case and that he was already given the opportunity. After hearing the arguments, the court had earlier reserved its order and pronounced it later today.

On May 19, Praveen Singh, Special judge, had convicted Yasin Malik and had directed NIA authorities to assess his financial situation to determine the amount of fine likely to be imposed.

Also Read :- Colombia: At least 27 killed in landslide, several people feared trapped

Malik on May 10 pleaded guilty to all charges after they were framed in March. He told the court he would not challenge any of the charges.he faced charges under the Unlawful Activities Prevention Act and Indian Penal Code sections 120-B (criminal conspiracy) and 124-A (sedition).

Meanwhile, The court had formally framed charges against Kashmiri separatist leaders including Farooq Ahmed Dar alias Bitta Karate, Shabbir Shah, Masarat Alam, Md Yusuf Shah, Aftab Ahmad Shah, Altaf Ahmad Shah, Nayeem Khan, Md Akbar Khanday, Raja Mehrajuddin Kalwal, Bashir Ahmad Bhat, Zahoor Ahmad Shah Watali, Shabir Ahmad Shah, Abdul Rashid Sheikh and Naval Kishore Kapoor.

The charge sheet was also filed against Lashkar-e-Taiba founder Hafiz Saeed and Hizbul Mujahideen chief Syed Salahuddin, who have been declared proclaimed offenders in the case.

Further reading:
For the latest news and reviews, follow us on Facebook, YouTube and Twitter पर फॉलो करे...