1. Home
  2. Politics
  3. Kerala Assembly Polls 2021 : records 69.81per cent Voter Turnout till 6:35 pm

Kerala Assembly Polls 2021 : records 69.81per cent Voter Turnout till 6:35 pm

By Saima Siddiqui 
Updated Date

Thiruvananthapuram: The fate of 140 MLAs to the 15th Kerala Legislative Assembly will be decide today on Tuesday, as the state has, with 2.74 crore voters, undergone polls to rise or fail 957 candidates across the state in its single phase elections. The results will be declared on 2 May.

Also Read :- Tripura assembly polls :TMC releases manifesto, promises 2 lakh jobs and one thousand allowance to unemployed youth

Here are the LIVE updates from Kerala Assembly Polls 2021: 

-Kerala records 69.81% voter turnout so till 6:35 pm

06:30 PM (IST)

Kerala Law minister files complaints with Election Commission against Opposition leader, NSS chief

Kerala Law Minister AK Balan on Tuesday filed a complaint with the Election Commission against Leader of the Opposition Ramesh Chennithala and Nair Service Society chief G Sukumaran Nair for “misusing the traditions and names of Gods in an unprecedented manner” on polling day.

Also Read :- Cricketers Babar Azam, Shahid Afridi among others moved to safety after explosion near stadium in Quetta

The Sabarimala women’s entry issue, one of the major poll planks of the opposition UDF and the NDA against the ruling LDF during campaigning, took centre stage even on Tuesday.

“The UDF and the BJP are misusing the traditions and the names of Gods in an unprecedented manner during this election. The Election Commission should take serious note of such incidents,” Mr Balan said in his complaint.

-Kerala records over 65 per cent polling by 4.30 pm.

Kerala continued to witness heavy polling in the crucial assembly elections on Tuesday with over 65 per cent of the total 2.4 crore voters having already cast their franchise to elect representatives 140 constituencies.

Despite scorching heat and sporadic rain in many parts of the state, people, including women and senior citizens, stood in queues for a long time to take part in the democratic exercise.

Also Read :- Traffic halted on Highway after a bridge collapses following a landslide incident in Himachal | Watch

-Kerala records 52.41 per cent polling till 2pm.


-Kerala: Union minister V Muraleedharan casts vote at Kottaram booth in Ulloor

Also Read :- Female cancer patient offloaded from NY-bound flight; DGCA seeks report


-Kerala: Actor Mammootty casts his vote at a polling booth in Ponnurunni, Ernakulam

12:46 (IST)

-Congress MP Shashi Tharoor casts his vote at a polling station in Thiruvananthapuram, Kerala

Also Read :- MP shocker: 16-year-old boy rapes 58-year-old woman in Rewa district, then brutally kills her with a sickle

11:33 (IST)

-Congress leader AK Antony casts his vote at Jagathy in Thiruvananthapuram

-After Kerala Health Minister KK Shailaja cast her vote on Tuesday morning, Congress leader AK Antony cast his vote at Government High School, Jagathy in Thiruvananthapuram.

10:10 (IST)

-Kerala Health Minister KK Shailaja casts her vote in Kannur; says ‘People will vote for us’

-After Kerala BJP Prez K Surendran casts his vote on Tuesday morning, state Health Minister KK Shailaja at around 10:00 am cast her vote in Kannur.

-While speaking to the reporters, the Kerala Health Minister said that the COVID-19 mortality rate in the state is 0.4 per cent. “We brought many social welfare measures during COVD-19. people are seeing all this and they will vote for us,” she added.

09:56 (IST)

-Polling for single-phase Kerala Assembly election underway at polling station in St. Joseph’s Higher Secondary School, Thiruvananthapuram.

09:36 (IST)

-Kerala BJP President K Surendran along with his family casts vote in Modakkallur, Kozhikode.

-After Metro Man E Sreedharan, Kerala BJP President K Surendran along with his family cast their votes in Modakkallur, Kozhikode.

09:32 (IST)

-Voter turnout in state until 9:30 am is 14.52%.

-After voting for single-phase Kerala Assembly elections began on Tuesday morning, voter turnout in the state until 9:30 am is 14.52 per cent.

08:53 (IST)

-Kerala Congress Chief Ramesh Chennithala arrives at Alappuzha to cast his vote

-Shortly after BJP’s Chief Ministerial candidate E Sreedharan cast his vote, Congress Chief Ramesh Chennithala has now reached Alappuzha to cast his vote.

08:17 (IST)

-Kerala Chief Minister Pinarayi Vijayan to cast his vote for single-phase Assembly elections shortly

-After Metro Man E Sreedharan cast his vote for the single-phase Assembly elections at a polling station in Ponnani, Kerala Chief Minister Pinarayi Vijayan will shortly cast his vote at a polling station in Kannur.

-Ahead of CM Vijayan cast his vote, a supporter of LDF (Left Democratic Front) on Tuesday morning arrived at the same polling booth in Kannur to cast his vote. Interestingly, the LDF supporter has coloured his hair in red to express his support to the party.

07:51 (IST)

-Voting for single-phase Kerala Assembly elections begins; PM Modi sends a message for all voters of state

-As the voting for the single-phase Kerala Assembly elections begins, Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Tuesday shared a message for all the voters of the state. Taking to his official Twitter handle, the Prime Minister said, “I urge the people of Kerala, especially the youth of the state and first-time voters, to cast their votes in record numbers.”

07:22 (IST)

-Metro Man E Sreedharan confident of BJP’s victory, says ‘No doubt I am winning’

-After casting his vote at a polling station in Ponnani, Metro Man E Sreedharan while speaking to news agency ANI said that he is confident over BJP’s victory in the poll-bound state of Kerala. Sreedharan said, “BJP will have an impressive show this time, there’s no doubt about it. I will win from the Palakkad constituency with a big margin. My entry into BJP has given a different image to the party.”

07:07 (IST)

-Metro Man E Sreedharan along with his wife reaches polling station in Ponnani and cast his vote

-Metro Man E Sreedharan along with his wife arrived at a polling station in Ponnani on Tuesday morning and cast his vote in the single-phase Kerala Assembly election. E Sreedharan is the BJP’s candidate for Palakkad and as well as the party’s CM face This is the first time he is contesting elections.

06:57 (IST)

-Voting for the single-phase #KeralaElections to begin shortly

-Polling for single-phase Kerala Assembly elections 2021 to begin shortly; see visuals from inside a polling station

For the latest news and reviews, follow us on Facebook, YouTube and Twitter पर फॉलो करे...