1. Home
  2. Politics
  3. Kerala elections: BJP names E Sreedharan as its CM candidate

Kerala elections: BJP names E Sreedharan as its CM candidate

By Priyanka Verma 
Updated Date

E Sreedharan, who joined the Bhartiya Janata Party last month, will be the BJP’s chief ministerial candidate in the assembly elections in Kerala, the party announced on Thursday. The decision was made public by the BJP state chief K Surendran.

Also Read :- Chhattisgarh: 7 Killed, several feared trapped after limestone mine collapses in Bastar

The 88-year-old Sreedharan, who is known for his role in setting up the Delhi Metro, announced on February 18 that he will join the BJP. He told reporters that his aim was to help the party come to power in Kerala and that he was open to the chief ministership. He also said the focus will be on developing infrastructure if the BJP won the assembly polls.

Sreedharan, who visited the Palarivattom flyover being reconstructed, said the people of Kerala will elect his party to power and he is expecting a “big” victory in the assembly elections. “People know very well what is good for them and what is good for the state. I am very confident they will elect BJP to power. I am expecting a big victory. I have made only one demand to the BJP that I want to contest in a constituency not far away from Ponnani where I am residing now,” he was quoted as saying by reporters.

The BJP leader also said it is the mental age rather than the physical one that decides what responsibilities one should take up. “It is the age of the mind that matters, not only the age of the body. Mentally, I am very alert and young. So far, I don’t have any issues with health. I don’t think health will be much of an issue. I will not be working as a normal politician. I will continue to work like a technocrat,” he said.

The election for 140-member Kerala assembly will be held on April 6, the Election Commission of India (ECI) had announced.

Also Read :- Ricky Ponting rushed to hospital after suffering heart scare during Australia vs West Indies match

For assembly poll 2021, the number of polling booths in Kerala has been extended from 21,498 to 40,771. The counting of votes will be held on May 2.

The tenure of the 14th Kerala legislative assembly will come to an end on June 1, 2021. A total of 2,67,88,268 voters will elect the candidates in Kerala for the 15th legislative assembly.

For the latest news and reviews, follow us on Facebook, YouTube and Twitter पर फॉलो करे...