1. Home
  2. Nation
  3. Kovind appoints 5 new Governors

Kovind appoints 5 new Governors

By Team Pardaphash 
Updated Date

According to the information given through a statement from the President’s office, President Ram Nath Kovind appointed five new Governors for the state of Tamil Nadu, Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Meghalaya and Bihar. The appointments will come into effect from the date they take charge of the office.

Also Read :- Outrage over Rishikesh murder: Ankita’s family agrees for cremation, says no to crowds

Here is the list of the name of 5 new Governors:-

Satya Pal Malik as the Governor of Bihar.

Malik held the profile of MoS, Parliamentary Affairs and Tourism brief period – almost six months – in 1990. The 71-year-old was twice a member of the Rajya Sabha and once of the Lok Sabha. He was a member of the Uttar Pradesh Assembly during the mid to late ’70s.

Ganga Prasad as the Governor of Meghalaya.

Also Read :- India women cricketer Jhulan Goswami shares heartfelt note to announce retirement from all forms of cricket

Prasad was an MLC in Bihar for 18 years. He led the Opposition as an MLC for five of those years.

Devendra Kumar Joshi as the Lt. Governor of Andaman & Nicobar islands.

Joshi served as Chief of Naval Staff from August 2012 to February 2014. From 1996-99, he held the position of Defence Adviser at the Indian High Commission in Singapore.

Brigadier (Dr) BD Mishra (Retd) as the Governor of Arunachal Pradesh.

The 78-year-old was a Commander of NSG (Black Cat Commandos) and was instrumental in the successful rescue operation during the Indian Airlines plane hijacking at Amritsar in 1993. He has served in the China war of 1962, Bangladesh liberation operations in 1971, and in LTTE operations in Sri Lanka in 1987-88. He also volunteered for the Kargil war after retirement.

Also Read :- Boat sinks in Bangladesh river; At least 23 killed, several dozens missing: Report

Prof Jagdish Mukhi as the Governor of Assam.

Previously the Governor of Andaman & Nicabar islands, Mukhi previously held various profiles in the Delhi Government such as Finance, Plannes, Excise & Taxation and Higher Education. In the Delhi Assembly, he led the Opposition for almost 10 ten years.

Banwarilal Purohit as the Governor of Tamil Nadu.

Purohit, who was the Governor of Assam till now, will be replacing Ch Vidyasagar Rao in his capacity as the state’s Governor. Given the turmoil within the ruling party in Tamil Nadu, the Governor’s role becomes all the more crucial. Purohit is a veteran political leader from Vidarbha.

For the latest news and reviews, follow us on Facebook, YouTube and Twitter पर फॉलो करे...