1. Home
  2. Nation
  3. List of Presidents of India till date

List of Presidents of India till date

By Team Pardaphash 
Updated Date

Rajendra Prasad

Also Read :- Mulayam Singh Yadav condition is still critical, hospital issued fresh health bulletin

Rajendra Prasad was the first President of independent India, and also the longest-serving President, for 12 years. He was also a freedom fighter during the Indian independence movement. Prasad was the only president to serve two terms in office. He served from 1952-1957 and then from 26 January 1950 to 12 May 1962.

Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan

Radhakrishnan was a prominent philosopher and writer and also held the position of vice chancellor of the Andhra University and Banaras Hindu University. He was also made a Knight of the Golden Army of Angels by Pope Paul VI. He received Bharat Ratna award in 1954 before becoming the President.He was the first President from South India. He served from 13 May 1962 to 13 May 1967.

Zakir Husain

Also Read :- Spat between Congress and BJP over UP government madrasa survey

Zakir Husain was vice chancellor of the Aligarh Muslim University and a recipient of Padma Vibhushan and Bharat Ratna. He died in office, the first to do so. He was also the shortest-serving President. He was also the first Muslim President. He served from 13 May 1967 to 3 May 1969.

Varahagiri Venkata Giri

He was elected Vice President of India in 1967. Following the death of President Zakir Hussain, Giri was appointed as Acting President of India. He resigned in a few months to take part in the presidential elections. He served from 3 May 1969 to 20 July 1969.

Mohammad Hidayatullah

Hidayatullah served as the Chief Justice of India, and was also a recipient of the Order of the British Empire. He served as Acting President of India until the election of Giri as the President of India. He served from 20 July 1969 to 24 August 1969.

Also Read :- Three children die, 11 hospitalized in Tamil Nadu due to food poisoning

Varahagiri Venkata Giri

Giri is the only person to have served as both an acting president and president of India. He was a recipient of the Bharat Ratna, and has functioned as Indian Minister of Labour and High Commissioner to Ceylon (Sri Lanka). He served 24 August 1969 to 24 August 1974.

Fakhruddin Ali Ahmed

Fakhruddin Ali Ahmed served as a Minister before being elected as president. He died in 1977 before his term of office ended, and was the second Indian president to die in office. He was also president during Emergency. He served from 24 August 1974 to 11 February 1977.

Basappa Danappa Jatti

Jatti was the vice president of India during Ahmed’s term of office, and was sworn in as Acting President of India upon Ahmed’s death. He earlier functioned as the Chief Minister for the State of Mysore. He served from 11 February 1977 to 25 July 1977.

Also Read :- Vande Bharat Express met with an accident, train running between Mumbai-Gandhinagar collided with a herd of buffaloes

Neelam Sanjiva Reddy

N.S. Reddy was the first Chief Minister of Andhra Pradesh State. Reddy was the only Member of Parliament from the Janata Party to get elected from Andhra Pradesh. He was unanimously elected Speaker of the Lok Sabha on 26 March 1977 and relinquished this office on 13 July 1977 to become the 6th President of India. He served from 25 July 1977 to 25 July 1982.

Giani Zail Singh

In March 1972, Singh assumed the position of chief Minister of Punjab, and in 1980, he became Union Home Minister. He was also secretary general to Non-Aligned Movement (NAM) from 1983 to 1986. He served from 25 July 1982 to 25 July 1987.

Ramaswamy Venkataraman

In 1942, Venkataraman was jailed by the British for his involvement in the Indian independence movement. After his release, he was elected to independent India’s Provisional Parliament as a member of the Congress Party in 1950 and eventually joined the central government, where he first served as Minister of Finance and Industry and later as Minister of Defence. He served from 25 July 1987 to 25 July 1992.

Shankar Dayal Sharma

Also Read :- Thailand day-care shooting: 34 children killed; Gunman then kills family, self

Sharma was Chief Minister of Madhya Pradesh, and the Indian Minister for Communications. He has also served as the governor of Andhra Pradesh, Punjab and Maharashtra. He served from 25 July 1992 to 25 July 1997.

Kocheril Raman Narayanan

Narayanan served as India’s ambassador to Thailand, Turkey, China and United States of America. He received doctorates in Science and Law and was also a chancellor in several universities. He was also the vice-chancellor of Jawaharlal Nehru University. He was the first President from Kerala, and also the first Dalit President. He served 25 July 1997 to 25 July 2002.

A. P. J. Abdul Kalam

Kalam was a scientist who played a leading role in the development of India’s ballistic missile and nuclear weapons programs. He also received the Bharat Ratna. Kalam was affectionately known as the People’s President, due to his extra-Presidential activities. He was the first bachelor president of India, and the first Muslim President who completed his term. Kalam died following a heart attack while delivering a speech in Shillong. He served from 25 July 2002 to 25 July 2007.

Pratibha Patil

Patil was the first woman to become the President of India. She was also the first female Governor of Rajasthan. He served from 25 July 2007 to 25 July 2012.

Pranab Mukherjee

Pranab Mukherjee held various posts in the cabinet ministry for the Government of India such as Finance Minister, Foreign Minister, Defence Minister and Deputy Chairman of the Planning Commission. Serving from 25 July 2012 till date.

For the latest news and reviews, follow us on Facebook, YouTube and Twitter पर फॉलो करे...