1. Home
  2. Politics
  3. Mamata Banerjee wins Bhabanipur bypolls with record margin, to continue as Bengal CM

Mamata Banerjee wins Bhabanipur bypolls with record margin, to continue as Bengal CM

By Priyanka Verma 
Updated Date

West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee has won Bhabanipur bypolls by nearly 59,000 votes, record margin so far. She defeated BJP’s Priyanka Tibrewal. In April-May election, the margin was around 28,000.

Also Read :- Mainpuri By-elections 2022: Akhilesh Yadav wife Dimple Yadav, fielded by Samajwadi Party

“I have won the Bhabanipur Assembly bypolls with a margin of 58,832 votes and have registered the victory in every ward of the constituency,” the chief minister said while addressing a press conference in Kolkata.

She further said that around 46% of people in Bhabanipur are non-Bengalis. “They all have voted for me. People of West Bengal are watching Bhabanipur, which has inspired me,” Banerjee said.

The chief minister also targeted the Centre, saying it hatched conspiracies to remove the TMC from power. “I was hurt in my feet so that I don’t contest the polls. I am grateful to the public for voting for us and to ECI for conducting polls within 6 months,” she added.

Also Read :- Gujarat assembly elections 2022: BJP announces 1st list of candidates, CM Bhupendra Patel to contest from Ghatlodiya

Banerjee thundered that people of Bhabanipur gave a befitting reply to the conspiracy that was hatched in Nandigram, where she lost the election to BJP’s Suvendu Adhikari earlier this year.

Banerjee had to contest in byelection as she was defeated in Nandigram by her former colleague Adhikari. It was a close contest but eventually Suvendu sailed through against his former boss.

The Trinamool Congress Party (TMC) was also leading in Murshidabad’s Samserganj and Jangipur. The party is ahead by 33,612 and 7,691 votes in Jangipur and Samserganj respectively.

In Bengal, the counting of votes took place for three bypolls on Sunday.

With her win, Banerjee would continue to remain the chief minister of the state.

Also Read :- Maharashtra: Division of portfolios in Maha cabinet, Home-Finance to Fadnavis, CM Shinde keeps urban development

During the April-May West Bengal Election 2021, Banerjee lost her Nandigram seat to BJP’s Suvendu Adhikari. Thereafter, the Bhabanipur assembly seat was vacated by the West Bengal Agriculture Minister Sobhandeb Chattopadhyay in May, paving the way for Mamata Banerjee to contest the by-poll.

Whereas, the by-poll in Jangipur and Samserganj were conducted following the death of two candidates during the April-May assembly elections. Congress candidate Rezaul Haque from Samserganj and Revolutionary Socialist Party (RSP) candidate Pradip Nandi from Jangipur died during the Bengal Assembly election.

Currently, TMC leaders Jakir Hossain and Amirul Islam are contesting from Jangipur and Samserganj seats, respectively. The CPI(M) has fielded Md Modasar Hossain from the Samserganj seat and Jane Alam Migya from Jangipur. Milan Ghosh is the BJP candidate from Samserganj while Sujit Das contested from Jangipur.

Further reading:
For the latest news and reviews, follow us on Facebook, YouTube and Twitter पर फॉलो करे...