1. Home
  2. Politics
  3. Mamata to create Vidhan Parishad for senior, experienced TMC leaders

Mamata to create Vidhan Parishad for senior, experienced TMC leaders

By Saima Siddiqui 
Updated Date

New Delhi: West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee on Friday while the releasing the list of 291 Trinamool Congress candidates for the upcoming state Assembly elections alleged that if her party voted to power, they will create Vidhan Parishad for senior and experience leaders.

Also Read :- TN BJP claims security breach occurred during PM Modi's visit for Chess Olympiad, submits memorandum to Guv Ravi

“After we come to power we will create Vidhan Parishad to accommodate senior and experienced leaders,” the TMC chief said.

“Those above 80 years of age have been dropped in the wake of COVID-19 situation and in view Election Commission norms,” she said adding, “Have faith in me, only TMC can take Bengal to new heights.”

Meanwhile, TMC has left three seats- Darjeeling, Kurswon and Kalimpong- out of the total 294 Assembly seats for “friendly parties”.

Mrs Banerjee also announced to contest the upcoming polls from Nandigram seat which is considered a stronghold constituency of her former closed aide, Suvendu Adhikari, who crossed over to the BJP last month. To note, Mamata had contested last elections from Bhawanipore in Kolkata.

Also Read :- Gujarat assembly polls: Former BJP minister Jaynarayan Vyas joins Congress

But this time BJP’s Suvendu Adhikari and TMC supremo will lock horns in Nandigram for which the former has already accepted the challenge.

The upcoing West Bengal elections are going to be a star studded one as Trinamool chief accommodated a slew of Bengali film and television industry representatives in the party’s candidate list for the upcoming elections.

Mamata fielded actor Kanchan Mallick, who had joined the Trinamool Congress a few days back, from Hooghly’s Uttarpara; Soham Chakraborty from Chandipur; director Raj Chakraborty from Barrackpore; actress Sayantika from Bankura; actress June Malliah from Midnapore sadar; actress Sayani Ghosh from Asansol south; cricketer Manoj Tiwari from Howrah’s Shibpur and Kaushani Mukherjee from Krishnanagar north assembly constituency.

West Bengal is arguably the biggest election prize for which three party’s will be seen locking horns this time with TMC, Congress-Left alliance and BJP in the fray. Meanwhile, the state Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee is seeking her third consecutive term, BJP has set a target of winning 200 seats in the 294-member state Assembly.

While releasing the list of candidates, Banerjee also announced that TMC has fielded 50 women, 42 Muslim candidates, 79 scheduled caste candidates and 17 Scheduled Tribe candidates to contest the upcoming West Bengal Assembly elections.

Also Read :- Two domes built at Karnataka bus stop vanish overnight after BJP MP threatens for looking like a mosque

“Today, we are releasing a list of 291 candidates which includes 50 women, 42 Muslim candidates. On 3 seats of north Bengal, we not putting up our candidates. I will contest from Nandigram,” said TMC chief said.

West Bengal will go to polls in eight phases from March 27 to April 29. The results will be declared on May 2.

Further reading:
For the latest news and reviews, follow us on Facebook, YouTube and Twitter पर फॉलो करे...