1. Home
  2. Politics
  3. Manipur: Jolt to Congress as four MLAs join BJP

Manipur: Jolt to Congress as four MLAs join BJP

By Team Pardaphash 
Updated Date

Imphal: Giving a jolt to the Congress Party, four more MLAs have joined the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) today. Earlier, there had been two Congress MLAs who took decision to join the BJP.

Also Read :- Maha'tra govt imposes stricter, uniform restrictions amid Delta Plus variant concerns

The four who joined the BJP on Friday are Y. Surchandra, Ngamthang Haokip, O. Lukhoi and S. Bira. Chief Minister N. Biren Singh and state unit president K. Bhabanada felicitated them at the BJP office.

T. Shyamkumar was the first Congress MLA to join the BJP after assembly elections. He was sworn in as a cabinet minister on March 15. Another MLA, Ginsuanhau Zou, followed him.

In the March election, the ruling Congress bagged 28 seats in the 60-member house to finish as the single largest group. But the BJP, which secured 21 seats, joined hands with other parties to form a government.

Also Read :- Twitter blocks Law Minister Ravi Shankar's handle over violation for an hour
For the latest news and reviews, follow us on Facebook and Twitter ...