1. Home
  2. Politics
  3. ‘Metro Man’ to contest in Kerala polls from Palakkad; BJP to fight on 115 seats

‘Metro Man’ to contest in Kerala polls from Palakkad; BJP to fight on 115 seats

By Priyanka Verma 
Updated Date

The Bhartiya Janata Party on Sunday announced the list of candidates for the upcoming Kerala assembly elections and said that the party will contest from 115 seats out of the 140 seats. BJP’s national general secretary while announcing the list of candidates said the rest of the 25 seats will be left for its allies.

Also Read :- Rajasthan police detained 5 accused for murder of gangster Raju Theth, 2 identified

Arun Singh also announced that the state BJP chief K Surendran will be contesting the elections from two constituencies. Surendran will contest the polls from Kasaragod’s Manjeshwar and Pathanamthitta’s Konni.

‘Metro Man’ E Sreedharan who recently joined the BJP is contesting from the Palakkad assembly constituency. Singh said, “ E Sreedharan will contest the polls from Palakkad Assembly constituency. Former state BJP chief Kummanam Rajasekharan will be contesting from Nemom seat in the upcoming elections.” Sreedharan will go head to head with young Congress leader Shafi Parambhil, who is the current MLA from the Palakkad constituency.

BJP has also named former union minister KJ Alphons who will be contesting from the Kanjirrapally assembly constituency. The party has also named former governor of Mizoram and state BJP chief Kummanam Rajasekharan as its candidate from the Nemom constituency. The party has also decided to give tickets to former Kerala DGP Jacob Thomas who will contest from Irinjalakuda and actor Suresh Gopi who will be contesting Trichur assembly constituency.

The voting for the highly anticipated assembly elections in Kerala will take place on April 6 while the counting of votes will be conducted on May 2, the Election Commission said in February this year.

Also Read :- Indian Navy day 2022: In a first, Navy day is being celebrated outside Delhi in Visakhapatnam

Other high-profile candidates are as follows:

K Surendran – Manjeshwar, Konni

E Sreedharan – Palakkad

Kummanam Rajasekharan – Nemom

PK Krishnadas – Kattakada

Also Read :- Watch: Sachin Pilot shares new video welcoming Bharat Jodo Yatra in Rajasthan

CK Padmanabhan – Dharmadom

Suresh Gopy – Thrissur

Jacob Thomas IPS – Irinjalakuda

Advocate Sreekanth – Kasaragod

Velayudhan A – Uduma

Balraj M – Kanhangad

Also Read :- MCD Election: AAP's message of "garbage heap" to Delhiites on civic polls day

Shibin TV – Trikaripur

KK Sreedharan – Payyannur

Arun Kaithapram – Kalliasseri

Gangadhara AP – Taliparamba

Aniyamma Rajendran – Irikkur

K Ranjith — Azhikode

Archana Vandichal – Kannur

Also Read :- Mumbai: Wife along with her lover killed husband by giving him slow poison, both arrested

N Haridas – Thalassery

Alphonse Kannanthanam – Kanjirappally

Abdul Salam – Tirur

Manikuttan (ST reserved seat) – Mananthavady

Krishnakumar (actor) – Thiruvananthapuram

For the latest news and reviews, follow us on Facebook, YouTube and Twitter पर फॉलो करे...