1. Home
  2. Politics
  3. N Biren Singh to serve as Manipur CM for second term

N Biren Singh to serve as Manipur CM for second term

By Priyanka Verma 
Updated Date

Manipur: Union Minister Nirmala Sitharaman on Sunday, March 20, said N Biren Singh has been elected the leader of party Legislature Party and will continue as chief minister of Manipur.

Also Read :- Mainpuri By-elections 2022: Akhilesh Yadav wife Dimple Yadav, fielded by Samajwadi Party

Welcoming N Biren Singh’s second term as chief minister of Manipur, Finance Minister Nirmala Sitharaman said, “It is a good decision taken unanimously by everyone. It will ensure that Manipur has a stable and responsible government which will build further because the Centre today under the leadership of PM Modi gives special attention to Northeastern states.”

Also Read :- Gujarat assembly elections 2022: BJP announces 1st list of candidates, CM Bhupendra Patel to contest from Ghatlodiya

The BJP central observers for the state Sithararaman and Kiren Rijiju and party leader Bhupendra Yadav had landed in Imphal earlier in the day to attend the crucial party meeting for the formation of the new BJP government in Manipur.

The BJP leaders have been discussing the government formation in Manipur after the BJP won an absolute majority in the state for the first time. It will be the second successive government of the party in the state.

Recently, Nirmala Sitharaman and Rijiju were appointed as observers for Manipur for the election of the legislature leader in the state.

On March 15, Biren Singh and MLA Th Biswajit along with BJP Manipur chief A Sharda Devi had rushed to New Delhi to attend the party’s election and told the reporters that the parliamentary board of the party would decide on the appointment of chief minister. “Whatever the party takes the decision, we should welcome the decision,” Singh had said. Senior BJP MLA Biswajit also shared a similar sentiment.

In the recently concluded elections, the BJP had won an absolute majority with 32 seats of 60-member assembly, while the National People’s Party (NPP), a coalition partner of the BJP in the previous government, came second with seven seats. The opposition Congress and Naga People’s Front had secured five seats each. The Janata Dal (U) had secured six, newly floated Kuki People’s Alliance two seats, while Independents candidates won three seats.

Also Read :- Maharashtra: Division of portfolios in Maha cabinet, Home-Finance to Fadnavis, CM Shinde keeps urban development


A former footballer and journalist, N Biren Singh ventured into politics in 2002 when he joined the Democratic Revolutionary Peoples Party.

He soon tasted victory in elections when he won the Heingang assembly seat. He retained the seat in the 2007 polls while contesting on a Congress ticket. He was later appointed Minister of Irrigation & Flood Control and Youth Affairs & Sports in the Manipur government.

In October 2016, he revolted against then Manipur Chief Minister Okram Ibobi Singh and defected to the BJP.

Contesting the 2017 assembly polls on a BJP ticket, N Biren Singh again won from his stronghold of Heingang. Despite not getting a majority, the BJP outmaneuvered the largest party, the Congress, to form the government in the state.

N Biren Singh was elected as leader of the BJP Legislature Party in Manipur and became the first-ever BJP Chief Minister in Manipur.

Also Read :- Adhir Chowdhury, Congress leader calls Droupadi Murmu 'rashtrapatni', BJP MPs demand apologize

Further reading:
For the latest news and reviews, follow us on Facebook, YouTube and Twitter पर फॉलो करे...