1. Home
  2. Sports
  3. New IPL teams named; CVC Capital Partners wins bid for Ahmedabad, RPSG Group gets Lucknow

New IPL teams named; CVC Capital Partners wins bid for Ahmedabad, RPSG Group gets Lucknow

By Saima Siddiqui 
Updated Date

New Delhi: Two new members joined the Indian Premier League (IPL) family on Monday with the tournament being a 10-team affair from the next season. The bidding took place at the Taj Hotel in Dubai today where Kolkata-based business tycoon Sanjiv Goenka’s RPSG Group claimed the Lucknow franchise for a whopping Rs 7,090 crore while international equity investment firm CVC Capital won the bid for Ahmedabad with a Rs 5,600 crore offer, as per reports.

Also Read :- Lakshya Sen bows out in quarterfinals to local lad Jonatan Christie in Indonesia Masters

“We’re extremely happy that Indian cricket is growing forward. That is what is important for us. We look at Indian cricket and that’s what our job is. The more Indian cricket prosperous, the better it is,” BCCI president Sourav Ganguly said on the addition of two new IPL teams.

The IPL’s first season was played in 2008, and ever since, the league has grown in stature and it is one of the most viewed sporting events in the world.

Chennai Super Kings, Mumbai Indians, Royal Challengers Bangalore, Kolkata Knight Riders, Delhi Capitals, SunRisers Hyderabad, Punjab Kings, and Rajasthan Royals have been with the league since its inception.

The Hyderabad franchise was earlier named Deccan Chargers but it came to be known as SunRisers Hyderabad after a change in ownership.

Also Read :- India off-spinner Axar Patel ties knot with Meha Patel in Vadodara. See wedding pics

There have been 14 seasons of the IPL tournament. The 15th season will have more matches with the addition of the new teams.

In 2010, two new franchises — Pune Warriors India and Kochi Tuskers Kerala — joined the league before the fourth season in 2011 and for a brief period, the league was played by 10 teams.

Listen to the latest songs, only on JioSaavn.com

One year later in November 2011, it was announced that Kochi Tuskers Kerala side would be terminated following it “breaching” the BCCI’s terms of conditions. Pune Warriors India had withdrawn from the IPL in 2013 over financial differences with the board.

But it is all set to be a 10-team affair again come 2022.

Also Read :- Athiya Shetty-KL Rahul post wedding pics and videos went viral | Watch

For the latest news and reviews, follow us on Facebook, YouTube and Twitter पर फॉलो करे...