1. Home
  2. Sports
  3. New Jersey Secures Prestigious Host Role for 2026 FIFA World Cup Final

New Jersey Secures Prestigious Host Role for 2026 FIFA World Cup Final


By Team Pardaphash 
Updated Date

Miami, United States: MetLife Stadium in New York/New Jersey has been chosen as the venue for the highly anticipated 2026 FIFA World Cup final, set to take place on July 19. The decision, announced by FIFA, follows a competitive bid process where New York successfully fended off a strong challenge from Dallas. The 48-team tournament will be co-hosted by the USA, Canada, and Mexico.

Also Read :- America: Center provided help to relatives of Indian dancer who fatally shot dead in Missouri

The opening match is scheduled to kick off at Mexico City’s iconic Azteca Stadium on June 11, marking the beginning of a historic and inclusive World Cup. FIFA President Gianni Infantino expressed excitement about the event, which will feature 104 matches across 16 state-of-the-art stadiums in the three co-hosting nations.

Atlanta and Dallas will host the semi-finals, with Miami selected for the third-place game. Quarter-final games are distributed among Los Angeles, Kansas City, Miami, and Boston. A total of 16 cities across the three countries will host matches, with the majority held in the USA.

MetLife Stadium, with a seating capacity of 82,500, emerged as the ideal location for the World Cup final. The stadium, home to the NFL’s New York Giants and New York Jets, has a history of hosting international football events, including the final of the 2016 Copa America tournament.

While New York highlighted its experience in hosting major international events and its status as a global city with excellent transportation connections, Dallas aimed to leverage the roofed AT&T Stadium in Arlington, Texas, home to the NFL’s Dallas Cowboys. Despite the competition, Dallas will host a total of nine games, the highest among all venues.

Also Read :- Indian Sikh musician killed outside gurdwara in Alabama; Second diaspora attack in US State

The Azteca Stadium in Mexico City will make history by becoming the first venue to host World Cup tournament games in three separate editions, following its roles in 1970 and 1986. The tournament coincides with the celebration of the 250th anniversary of American independence, featuring a round-of-16 game on July 4 in Philadelphia.

With 48 teams participating, the tournament format includes 12 groups of four teams each. The top two from each group, along with the eight best third-placed teams, will advance to the knockout stage. The full draw for the tournament is expected in late 2025, with FIFA emphasizing a schedule designed to limit travel for teams, ensuring an efficient and thrilling competition.

Further reading:
For the latest news and reviews, follow us on Facebook, YouTube and Twitter पर फॉलो करे...